Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Can't access IE on main PC?

• Please log in to reply

leeo5150

leeo5150

• Pip
  • 8 posts
:) Good morning. I am a complete newbie to this site, so please be patient with me if I seem to know 'next to nothing'. In our house we have a Dell Deminsion 8200 desktop PC hooked up to high speed cable connection. From there it goes into a wireless router which provides internet to our 2 laptops. The laptops will connect and function perfectly to IE7. The desktop, however, will not connect to the internet at all. It only shows 'internet cannot display the webpage'. I have tried reinstalling the CDs from the laptops (the desktop is an older PC), doing a system restore, anything I can think of. It almost seems as if the driver (if there is one) is gone from this system.

I have an 11 year old ready to kill me if I don't get her back on the net! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Lee

Advertisements

Fenor

Fenor

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 5,236 posts
Hi leeo5150! Welcome to G2G!

On the desktop with the problem, go to START-->RUN and type: devmgmt.msc. The Device Manager window will open. Are there any items listed that have a yellow ! or ? next to it?

Fenor

leeo5150

leeo5150

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I just went and checked; everything looks normal. Nothing in yellow or with a ! or ? beside it. Thanks.

Fenor

Fenor

Trusted Tech

• Retired Staff
  • 5,236 posts
Go to START-->RUN and type ipconfig and post here what it stats for the IP Address, Subnet Mask & Default Gateway.