Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Changing primary user of the computer?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
e_p_a_k

e_p_a_k

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
I've just inherited a computer at work from somebody else. All the IT guy did is change the profile name from "Bob" to "Josh". I'm able to log in as "Josh", but it bugs me that it still shows "Bob's Documents", and the default login is "Bob". How can I change everything to "Josh"? Thanks!
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Tyger

Tyger

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,896 posts
That's very simple. You probably need to be logged in as Administrator, then just make a new user named Josh and delete the old user Bob from the list of users. Of course save any files from Bob's folder to your's that you want.
  • 0

#3
e_p_a_k

e_p_a_k

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
thanks a lot, in the process of migrating now. now my only problems is all the mail i have stored in the previous account. since i'm taking over his position, i need all of his old correspondence. how can i transfer it all to my new account? thanks!
  • 0

#4
Neil Jones

Neil Jones

    Member 5k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts

thanks a lot, in the process of migrating now. now my only problems is all the mail i have stored in the previous account. since i'm taking over his position, i need all of his old correspondence. how can i transfer it all to my new account? thanks!


Export it from the old account and then import it into the same program on the new account.
Do this BEFORE you delete the account in User Accounts, otherwise it will purge everything, email and all.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP