Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Please help, XP Pro CD doesn't boot, blinking cursor error!

• Please log in to reply

Pavel Spirine

Pavel Spirine

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi everyone,

I'm not a beginner when it comes to computers but am quite stumped by what's going on and would like an opinion from some experts!

I recently acquired a Samsung X25 Laptop (1.86 Celeron M processor).
I got it without a hard drive or RAM.

So I tried to start it up (from battery as I'm waiting for a power supply, should have it in a few days). All the lights turned on, but the screen didn't and nothing happened.
I then got some DDR 2 ram for it (1GB) and put it in. Turned it on and hey presto the CD drive made some whiny noises, and the BIOS screen came up. In setup (F2) it recognized the ram and showed the CD/DVD Rom.

Before going out and buying a new hard drive for it (and using the laptop), I figured I'd try it with one of my USB 2.5" drives.

The 80GB 2.5" drive wasn't erased, and was formatted as FAT32. I put it in and the laptop wouldn't go past the bios screen. I then changed the jumper on the hard drive from 'Cable Select' to 'Master', and the laptop recognized it in setup, but wouldn't do anything else, and just had a blinking cursor.

I have a XP Pro (SP2) installation CD so put that in, and it will not boot. CD Drive is recognized in setup, and is set to be the first booting device (followed by removable media and then hard drives). Yet the computer doesn't boot from CD, it's almost like it doesn't recognize it.