Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building Gaming / Business Desktop : Details Inside

• Please log in to reply

Cyprezz

Cyprezz

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello everyone,

I'm building a gaming and business computer. I'm a freelance web developer so I'm on the computer for both work and play which in my mind justifies an insane computer. This computer will be a nice tax deduction as well. As far as work programs go, many of them are glorified text editors for coding and it's only when I'm working with large files in Photoshop and video encoding that I would like a faster computer. The last time I built a computer was at least 4-5 years ago and so I could use some any advice / reviews of my current build. I'm pretty certain I have everything I need and that its all compatible but if not or I've have overkill one place and a bottleneck in another please let me know. Current build is $1,614. I will have 2 x 22inch monitors.

APEVIA X-JUPITER G-Type X-JUPITERG-BK Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail $160

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31000340AS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM $200

2 x EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail $340 (170 each)
Max: Read some great reviews on this card, I've never had the money for SLI before this computer. Is this a good choice?

Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail $90