Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Hosts file question

• Please log in to reply

kelkay

kelkay

• PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
I am new to the hosts file usage, and I am afraid I messed up. I downloaded Hostsman and it automatically updates the file, which is good. The problem is my firewall asked me about four files to be redirected to 127.0.0.1 which is what I thought it did with all bad sites. So I clicked yes, remember it for the firewall. Then later I ran Spybot S&D and it hit on Microsoft Windows Redirected Hosts, and showed the four I had checked to go to that dns number. Now my question is this, did Spybot mess up, or did I by allowing the firewall to accept the change? Spybot fixed it, but whether it was a correct fix I have no idea.

--- Search result list ---
Microsoft.Windows.RedirectedHosts: [SBI $97C2C277] Redirected host (Redirected host, fixed)
www.experts-exchange.com=127.0.0.1

Microsoft.Windows.RedirectedHosts: [SBI $926098F7] Redirected host (Redirected host, fixed)
experts-exchange.com=127.0.0.1

Microsoft.Windows.RedirectedHosts: [SBI $C1DEB1AF] Redirected host (Redirected host, fixed)
ask.com=127.0.0.1

Microsoft.Windows.RedirectedHosts: [SBI $25161DD4] Redirected host (Redirected host, fixed)
www.ask.com=127.0.0.1

Pt 2 of question....
Hostsman allows 4 different places to update the hosts file if you want. I clicked update for all of them, and then overwrite. When it updated it deleted duplicates, which I think is good. Was this the proper procedure for the safest thing to do?

Advertisements

kelkay

kelkay