Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building computer, need a bit of advice

• Please log in to reply

Simonomon

Simonomon

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello. I've never built a computer before, but I'm sure it's not too hard since the majority of the work is plugging things in? I presume?

I have a list of things I already have to work with, but the purpose of this post is to receive suggestions regarding the other parts I'll need to buy.

Here's what I have:

8800 GTS GPU
550w antec PSU
Intel Pentium 4 processor 3.0 ghz
2gb DDR2 pc3200 4x512MB SD(I think)RAM

What else do I need?

(Remember, if you make a suggestion that is compatible with the items above listed, I'm probably going to buy it. So... make sure if you decide to respond, you know what you're talking about. Even though I'll try to get multiple opinions)

Also, I'm a technical newbie, so remember, I'm here to learn! Thanks!

Edited by Simonomon, 26 July 2008 - 01:29 AM.

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
Your post realistically is too vague as your parts could cover multiple configurations.

A P4 3Ghz processor could cover two different socket types - 478 or 775. Any other markings on the chip?
A 550w PSU may be on the low side depending on what else alongside that 8800GTS card.
Memory may or may not be possible to be used depending on the processor and the board that you have.