Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows XP Start Bar

• Please log in to reply

katkatkat

katkatkat

• Pip
  • 9 posts
So I was fiddling around with the positioning of the language bars and the 'quick launch' icons a few months ago, and now those icons have shifted to the left hand side, right up next to the start button and its stuck there. I've tried moving it around with those 'dotted-lines-that-help-shift-the-quick-launch-icons' but it doesnt work. Sorry I'm not very technical. :)

It also doesnt display any of the windows that I have open, so I'm using Alt+Tab for a while now; but I'd really like to have the Start Bar back.

Do you know how to get it back to default or something?

Thanks so much (:

I'll post a picture soon.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
From Kelly's corner,

To use the Regedits: Save the REG File to your hard disk. Double click it and answer yes to the import prompt. REG files can be viewed in Notepad by right clicking on the file and selecting Edit.

117. Restore Taskbar and Start Menu

As Said, Save the above file to your hard drive. I use a folder I made on the "C" drive called Downloads and have a sub folder called XP. I put all files used to fix XP there.

There are also a cou[ple of VBS files to do something similar. You must have any AV turned off to run the VBS files. Look for the 164 file and the right side file on the 195 row.

http://www.kellys-ko...m/xp_tweaks.htm

Please let us know what happens.

SRX660

katkatkat

katkatkat