Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Referred by Malware Forum as can't reboot!


  • Please log in to reply

#16
defriesg

defriesg

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
OK I hit the yes button and now its says
The system on the startup partition is FAT32
Fixboot is wriing a new boot sector
The new bootsector was successully written.

Then i typedin fixmbr
and I hit yes to write a new MBR (can't do anymore damage can I !!)
So now it says it has written a new master boot record on physical drive \Device\Harddisk0\Partition0

The new master boot record has been successfully written

Now I'm going to type Exit at the C prompt and switch off for the night before I get locked in at work! Please can you come back on this post and tell me what to do next.

Thanks very much :)
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
say yes...try rebooting

Edited by happyrck, 04 September 2008 - 11:54 AM.

  • 0

#18
defriesg

defriesg

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Morning

I've tried to open windows in safe mode, in safe mode with networking, in safe mode with comand prompt, last known good configuration and start windows normally. It still won't do anything! Sounds a bit terminal I guess :)
  • 0

#19
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
then you will have to repair xp...lowdown is here...
  • 0

#20
defriesg

defriesg

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Hi, thanks for the link but when I click on it it says the page hasn't been found. Do you have another link please?
  • 0

#21
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
not sure whats happening but lets try again here...if that won't work cut and paste the link below

http://www.geekstogo...ws-XP-t138.html

Edited by happyrck, 05 September 2008 - 07:20 AM.

  • 0

#22
defriesg

defriesg

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Thanks very much! Will give it a go!! :-)
  • 0

#23
defriesg

defriesg

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
I've followed the guide to repair but I get a blue screen saying Setup cannot copy the file: verdanaz.ttf. I've pressed to rtry a few times but to no avail. It says either skip the file but has a caution that if you skip, the setup may not complete and windows xp may not work properly or press F3 to quit.

What do I do??!! Its only on 3% copied! Do I skip on any files it won't copy?
  • 0

#24
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
skip it and any others you retry and it won't/can't copy...your sure your following the guide EXACTLY ??

Edited by happyrck, 05 September 2008 - 07:58 AM.

  • 0

#25
defriesg

defriesg

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Yep, it was working like a dream and I even thought to get my hopes up!! I've skipped it and now the next one it doesn't like is verdanab.ttf

Have skipped the verdanab.ttf and now its wizzing away and up to 16%!! I can't cross any more bits of me in the hope this works!!

Quite a few others it's not liking very much either

Edited by defriesg, 05 September 2008 - 08:11 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#26
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
the files you mentioned it don't like are Fonts that are installed with Office
  • 0

#27
defriesg

defriesg

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Morning

It took 3 hours in the end to load the windows disk and I think I had to skipp more than I put on in the end! But now that's its on it still won't reboot. What it does do now is try and the windows page comes up with a timebar and then it goes to a blue screen that says windows has shut down as something is wrong but then it tries windows again. Before it went to a page that gave me the option of starting in a safe mode, or safe mode with networking etc but that page doesn't come up now. Must admit I haven't switched laptop back on since I left it on Friday night as now back at work so will have a go. But any further ideas?

Thanks.
  • 0

#28
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
it could be that the cd drive is flaky or the cd is scratched /dirty...do you have a different cd to try...
is there data on the drive that you can't live without...
  • 0

#29
defriesg

defriesg

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
Cd Isn't the best if I'm honest. I can live without the files on the laptop, was hoping to get photos off but I think that is sounding highly unlikely! I did contact ACER as well and they came back to say there is a Disk2Disk recovery feature (which should be supported by my machine). and can be initiated by pressing ALT + F10 when the ACER page comes on. I haven't done this, do you think this would be worth a shot?
  • 0

#30
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
you can use puppy linux to get your data first...then use the restore/recovery option....

get puppy linux...Get puppy-2.16-seamonkey-fulldrivers.iso download it and burn it to cd
..
if you don't have a burning program that will burn .ISO files go here and get burncdcc ..a small FAST no frills iso burning program...

NOTE...do not put a blank cd in until burncdcc opens the tray for you
1. Start BurnCDCC
2. Browse to the ISO file you want to burn on cd/dvd ....in this case its puppy linux.iso
3. Select the ISO file
4. click on Start

make sure in the bios the cd drive is the first boot device....

put the cd in the cd drive..boot your computer....puppy will boot and run totally in ram...if your hardware is is good working order you will know...
after you get it running and your at the desktop...you take the puppy linux cd out and then you can use the burner to copy all yor data to cd/dvds
you can also use it to backup your data to a external usb harddrive..just have it hooked to the computer when you boot up with puppy...
==========================
quick guide for saving data...music..files on a system that will not boot using puppy Linux..


after you get to puppy desktop..
click on the drives icon...looks like a flash drive...top row..it will list all the drives connected to

your computer...

click on the red icon for the drive you want to mount...in this case its a flash drive ...puppy will

mount the drive..the drive icon turns green when its mounted...
minimize the drives mounter window..you will need it again in a few minutes..
drag the right edge of it sideways to shrink it to its narrowest size...about half the width of the screen...then drag the window to the right edge of the screen...

now click on the icon that looks like a filing cabinet (kind of yellow) on the main drive...it should
already be green..
you will see a list of all the folders on the main drive Usually your C: drive..shrink that window to
the narrowest you can..about half the width of the screen...drag that window to the left side of the screen...
at this point you should have 2 windows open on your desktop..the flash drive on the right side..
go back to the folders on the C: drive...click on the documents and settings folder...then your user
name or all users..find the folders that has your data..
drag and drop the folder with the data you want to make copies of to the flash drive window...

your options are to move ..copy ect...JUST COPY..if its to big you will have to open the folder and
drag and drop individual files until the flash drive is full...(I have a 120 GB external USB drive for
big data recovery jobs and a 4 GB flash drive for the smaller jobs)..after you get the files copied to
the flash drive...
Click on the drives mounter you minimized earlier
UNMOUNT THE FLASH DRIVE by clicking on the green icon..you will once in awhile get error messages when
unmouting the drive..ignore them..when the flash drive icon turns red again its safe to remove the
flash drive..trot on over (stroll if you want to look cool) to another computer and plug in the flash

drive and copy all the data files ( I drag and drop) to the other computer..
make sure the other computer can read them...

now delete the data on the flash drive...take it back to the misbehaving computer and plug it in

again..click on the drives icon again and repeat until you have all your data transferred to the working
system..

Edited by happyrock, 08 September 2008 - 06:33 AM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP