Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Local Area Connection "A network cable is unplugged"


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Mikeybro

Mikeybro

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
hey i hope someone can help me.

i recently get these pop ups in my task bar on my laptop saying that "a network cable is unplugged". i have wireless that is connected 100% but it looks like i'm also connected to 2 other networks as well. one is the "local area connection", it has a red cross over it and there is another network that is connected fully as well. am i connected to too much networks and how do i make my internet work without getting the "problem loading page" signs.
i've tryed disabling the local area connection one but it still doesn't work, i've tryed repairing too. nothing has worked.

i really need help soon, i hope someone can help!
thank you

Michelle
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
AitrusSkyy

AitrusSkyy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
You usually have 3 connections (1 of which isn't a physical connection).

Wireless
LAN
and maybe "Broadband Connection" or something along those lines.

The lan has a red x because it is not connected and will only be connected if you plug a physical cable into the laptop.
The broadband connection (or other connection you mention) will be connected if you are connected through the wireless or lan.

If you are connected to wireless and getting page load errors, then there may be a problem with your wireless connection or perhaps you are not connecting to the correct wireless signal.

It is completely normal to have 3 connections.

Are you sure you are connected to your own network? Have you tested it via another computer?

Edited by AitrusSkyy, 30 September 2008 - 06:35 AM.

  • 0

#3
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
try this...
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2. For these commands click on Start.... Run..... type in...CMD ....to open a command prompt box...

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults...type in ... netsh winsock reset catalog .... press ...enter Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults...type in...... netsh int ip reset reset.log ... press ...enter

Edited by happyrock, 30 September 2008 - 07:58 AM.

  • 0

#4
Mikeybro

Mikeybro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
i've tried all these suggestions and nothing has worked yet. got any other ideas. and i know i'm connected to my own network. and the wireless works on my other laptop fine, it just doesn't work on this one.

just a question, when ur connected to wireless, should any other lan networks or broadband networks be connected to, or should it just be the wireless network connected.

Edited by Mikeybro, 01 October 2008 - 06:56 AM.

  • 0

#5
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Lets try and see whether you have equipment related problems. In this step, we will allow the equipment to self-diagnose and resolve the problems.

If you suddenly lose connectivity over your High Speed Internet line, have a slow connection or are unable to browse the Internet despite indications that you are connected, it is possible that your modem is not communicating properly with the Internet network.

Save all your current work, close all open applications, then shut down your computer ...unplug router and modem...
do these steps in this EXACT order

Power up the modem first and after it gets initialized and all the lites are steady..
power up the router...after all the lites are on...
power up the computer

The above steps should take care of your problem

no joy then try this..even if you have already done this do it again

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands click on Start.... Run..... type in...CMD ....press enter....to open a command prompt box

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults...type in ... netsh winsock reset catalog .... press ...enter

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults...type in...... netsh int ip reset reset.log ... press ...enter

still nojoy...

For these commands click on Start.... Run..... type in...CMD ....press enter....to open a command prompt box

Type the following commands:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All , then hit Enter ....

Paste the results in a message here using copy and paste or save it to notepad

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or
a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it
here.

Edited by happyrock, 01 October 2008 - 11:51 AM.

  • 0

#6
Mikeybro

Mikeybro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Cindy>PING 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=274ms TTL=55
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=293ms TTL=55
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=318ms TTL=55
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=342ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 274ms, Maximum = 342ms, Average = 306ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Cindy>PING yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [68.180.206.184] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=268ms TTL=55
Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=296ms TTL=55
Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=210ms TTL=55
Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=226ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 68.180.206.184:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 210ms, Maximum = 296ms, Average = 250ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Cindy>NBTSTAT _n

Displays protocol statistics and current TCP/IP connections using NBT
(NetBIOS over TCP/IP).

NBTSTAT [ [-a RemoteName] [-A IP address] [-c] [-n]
[-r] [-R] [-RR] [-s] [-S] [interval] ]

-a (adapter status) Lists the remote machine's name table given its name
-A (Adapter status) Lists the remote machine's name table given its
IP address.
-c (cache) Lists NBT's cache of remote [machine] names and their IP
addresses
-n (names) Lists local NetBIOS names.
-r (resolved) Lists names resolved by broadcast and via WINS
-R (Reload) Purges and reloads the remote cache name table
-S (Sessions) Lists sessions table with the destination IP addresses
-s (sessions) Lists sessions table converting destination IP
addresses to computer NETBIOS names.
-RR (ReleaseRefresh) Sends Name Release packets to WINS and then, starts Refr
esh

RemoteName Remote host machine name.
IP address Dotted decimal representation of the IP address.
interval Redisplays selected statistics, pausing interval seconds
between each display. Press Ctrl+C to stop redisplaying
statistics.


C:\Documents and Settings\Cindy>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ACER-CINDY
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain_not_set.invalid

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel® PRO/Wireless 2915ABG Networ
k Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-6F-7A-64
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.12.160.35
203.12.160.36
192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 4 October 2008 00:25:37
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 5 October 2008 00:25:37

C:\Documents and Settings\Cindy>

Edited by Mikeybro, 03 October 2008 - 08:40 AM.

  • 0

#7
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
almost there...
open up the prompt box again and type in this...
C:\>ipconfig /flushdns
  • 0

#8
Mikeybro

Mikeybro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
ok, it said i "successfully flushed the DNS resolver cache"
  • 0

#9
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
you are rebooting after doing what I asked aren't you

now type this in the dos box window...

NBTSTAT -RR

then ipconfig /all
copy and paste the results like you did before

ALSO ...go to start...run...type in services.msc...make sure DNS client and DHCP client are both set to auto and are started

Edited by happyrock, 04 October 2008 - 06:38 AM.

  • 0

#10
Mikeybro

Mikeybro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
yes i have been rebooting. i didn't know if u needed the NBTSTAT thing so i posted it anyway.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Cindy>NBTSTAT _RR

Displays protocol statistics and current TCP/IP connections using NBT
(NetBIOS over TCP/IP).

NBTSTAT [ [-a RemoteName] [-A IP address] [-c] [-n]
[-r] [-R] [-RR] [-s] [-S] [interval] ]

-a (adapter status) Lists the remote machine's name table given its name
-A (Adapter status) Lists the remote machine's name table given its
IP address.
-c (cache) Lists NBT's cache of remote [machine] names and their IP
addresses
-n (names) Lists local NetBIOS names.
-r (resolved) Lists names resolved by broadcast and via WINS
-R (Reload) Purges and reloads the remote cache name table
-S (Sessions) Lists sessions table with the destination IP addresses
-s (sessions) Lists sessions table converting destination IP
addresses to computer NETBIOS names.
-RR (ReleaseRefresh) Sends Name Release packets to WINS and then, starts Refr
esh

RemoteName Remote host machine name.
IP address Dotted decimal representation of the IP address.
interval Redisplays selected statistics, pausing interval seconds
between each display. Press Ctrl+C to stop redisplaying
statistics.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Mikeybro

Mikeybro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Cindy>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ACER-CINDY
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain_not_set.invalid

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel® PRO/Wireless 2915ABG Networ
k Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-6F-6F-7A-64
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.12.160.35
203.12.160.36
192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 5 October 2008 20:36:43
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 6 October 2008 20:36:43
  • 0

#12
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
you are actually connected to the internet because pinging by both ip address and yahoo.com return the packets that were sent...
the problem comes because DNS Suffix Search List and Connection-specific DNS Suffix ...does not list your isp...power cycling the modem router and computer SHOULD have corrected this...and I'm not sure why it doesn't
I will contact a networking guru and see if he can help with this...

Edited by happyrock, 05 October 2008 - 06:20 AM.

  • 0

#13
Mikeybro

Mikeybro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
hey it's working now!! i uninstalled Norton anti virus and it's working now...but problem is....my laptop keeps rebooting every few minutes and a flash of a blue screen shows for about half a second with alot of white writing.... it's to quick for me to read it!! then it starts a disk check...could it be a virus or something with my hard drive?? not to sure if it's a BSoD??
  • 0

#14
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Windows XP is set by default to reboot your computer when it hits a critical error. For most users I suppose this is a good thing, as no one likes to see the BSOD (blue screen of death). But in this case, we actually WANT to see the BSOD because it contains some useful information in diagnosing the problem. In order to force your computer to show you the BSOD, need to tell it to stop auto restarting on critical errors.

Right-click...My Computer... and then click ...Properties...
Click the ..Advanced tab...
Under Startup and Recovery.. click ..Settings... to open the Startup and Recovery dialog box....
Clear the ..Automatically restart.. check box, and click OK the necessary number of times...

Restart your computer for the settings to take effect....

write down EXACTLY what the error says...post it back here....

Chkdsk is a utility designed to check the integrity of the data on a computer's hard disk drive as well as find and fix errors which could corrupt such data.

Running chkdsk on your Windows XP or 2000 system can repair minor Windows problems

There are several different methods that can be used to run chkdsk
start with this one.....

1. Click the Start button then... Run
2. In the Run window's Open box... type in ... cmd
3. Click OK and an MS-DOS-style black screen will appear in a new window
4. Run chkdsk by typing one of the the following commands where the cursor is blinking...
chkdsk /r and then press ...ENTER...

typing chkdsk c... /f /r will both fix errors and recover lost data. Running chkdsk with both the /f and /r options can often take a considerable amount of time depending upon the size of your hard drive and the amount of data stored on it

OR
chkdsk c: /f and then press ...ENTER...

Typing chkdsk c: /f will only fix errors that are encountered but its much faster


5. With either command, a message will appear that says...chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be checked the next time the system restarts? <y/n>"
6. Type y (for "yes") and then press ...ENTER...
7. A message will appear that will say...This volume will be checked the next time the system restarts
8. Type exit and then press ...ENTER...
9. Reboot the computer as you normally would and chkdsk will automatically begin running after your reboot... While chkdsk is running you will see a light blue window with a dark blue band at the top and bottom. Chkdsk will display the specific stage it is checking as well as the percentage of completion of the stage.
You cannot do anything else on your computer while chkdsk is running. When chkdsk is finished, it will automatically reboot your computer....
NOTE
THERE ARE 5 STAGES...
it may even back up at times and go over the same part again...let it run even if it "sticks" at a percentage of completion and appears to hang...DO NOT TURN OFF THE COMPUTER
while chkdsk is running or you will have problems...this can take a long time on huge hard drives

Edited by happyrock, 12 October 2008 - 06:27 AM.

  • 0

#15
Mikeybro

Mikeybro

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
OK this is what it says!!

A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your compyter.

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your computer, if this screen appears again follow these steps.

Check to make sure any new hard drive or software is properly installed. if this is a new installation, ask your hard ware or software manufacturer for any windows updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware or software. Disable BIOs memory options such as Caching and Shadowing. If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select advanced start up options, and then select Safe mode.

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x000000D7 (0x0000000D, 0x00000002, 0x00000000, 0xF7E2F146)

*** W29n51.sys - Address F7E2F146 base at F7DC000, Date stamp 41830De7

Beginning dump of physical memory
Physical memory dump complete.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP