• Please log in to reply

michael japan

michael japan

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Well, I'm back with the same problem.

this is exactly what the prompt says:

secondary master hard disk error
Press F1 to resume. Core 2 Quad 9450/4GB RAM/XP Pro.

I hit F1 and it goes into the XP logo and spins.....and spins.....and spins.....and spins...and spins.

Before if I rebooted into safe mode and then booted again it will go into normal windows. If nobody answers before I do that, I will do that again--I need to work.

Thanks
edit---ok, this time I let it spin and spin and it eventually booted and a prompt came up that said, "found new hardware". Sad to say, the rest flew by and I couldn't see what it said. I know it had a "T" in it and of course my hard drives when going to system and checking have "T's" in them. I know this might sound dumb. I'm a musician forgive me. ^_^

One more edit--ok--yes, it did boot, but the partition is not there--and it is my main work data folder for my music projects. I will definitely now re-boot.

Edited by michael japan, 08 November 2008 - 07:46 PM.

Advertisement

phillip22

phillip22

• Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
I would first run the maker's diagnostic tool on the secondary disk to check for physical errors as the disk might be starting to fail.
Go to the disk-manufacturer's website and download their free diagnostic utility (look for a link called 'Support'). It runs without any need to have Windows running by creating a bootable floppy or CD.

Edited by phillip22, 09 November 2008 - 04:24 AM.

michael japan

michael japan

• Pip
  • 5 posts