Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I can't start my computer in safe mode

• Please log in to reply

gorilla7875

gorilla7875

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
My computer was fine. I returned from vacation and the computer wouldn't start. When Windows XP is loading the bar stops 3 times and then goes to a black screen. That's all. It won't start in safe mode either. I am a writer and in colege so all my book files and college files are on the computer. I don't want to do anything that will delete those files. Please can anyone help me. Everything I try leads me to a black black screen. Safe mode gets me to a black screen with the words "safe mode" in each corner. I don't know what to do and I need those files. I don't have a back up for any of them.

Advertisements

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Hello gorilla7875...

Did you try "Last known good configuration" from the Safe Mode options?

Is your machine a brand name machine like HP, Compaq, Dell, etc...? If so, what is the make and model number?

Do you have your Windows cd?

wannabe1

gorilla7875

gorilla7875

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts