Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Help, history deletes itself


  • Please log in to reply

#1
HelpMeeee

HelpMeeee

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
everytime my computer is turned off by the mains and not shut down properlly .. my internet browsing history for that day doesnt save

everything i had been on in that day is saved into history but if my computer is switched off quickly by the plug, the next time i turn the computer on and look at history there's nothing there

its annoying me because im wondering if my husband has changed the settings so he can just turn the computer off to wipe away anything hes hiding :)
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
lilac_sim

lilac_sim

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
hi i'm not a major computer whizz but i do know that if you want to save all settings then turn the computer off properly and just incase i can show you where to see how long the data is being saved for if you want?

i only have xp so can only tell you how to do that but i hope it helps you anyway!

right well first of all go to the control panel which will be there when you press start to look at programmes , then go on network and internet connections , then there will be several options down the bottom choose internet options ,then there will be a few choices at the top which will have general security etc ,well you want the first one the general page and you will see there is a bit that says browsing history click on settings! then down the bottom of the next part you should have history!! this will tell you how many days it is saving for and if you want to change it just put the amount of days you want then press ok! hope this helps although i do think it is that you are just unplugging and not turning off properly .
And don't change anything else if you aren't very computer literate as it can cause problems but just changing the days should be fine. hope i could help, clarexx :help:
And hubbies can be naughty sometimes but i don't mind as long as its safe! as mine let in trojans looking at porn !!!!! :) :) :wave:
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP