Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Slow running computer

• Please log in to reply

cmpt22

cmpt22

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hello,

Your website comes highly recommended. I can tell just by reviewing other questions, If I thought I new a little about computers, I'm only beginning to apprecaite how little.

My computer in the last couple months has become painfully slow at times, especially loading up Internet no matter whether I use IE or Firefox. It also takes a long time to just load windows afetr I logon.

Based on someone else asking this same question about their cmpt running slow, I believe this some of the information needed;
Windows XP Home Edition
Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.60GHz
496 MB
Used Space 53.9
Unused Space: 61.0 GB

I have no idea what I'm about to copy and paste below but it is from HijackThis.
This what was in the logfile from a system scan.

Your help is much appreciated.

Advertisements

Broni

Broni

Kraków my love :)

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
This is not right forum to post HJT log, so, please don't do this in the future.
Malware-wise, the log looks fine, but there are few things, which slow your computer down.
1. You could use more RAM.
2. Norton usually slows computers down.
3. You have quiet a few startups.
4. Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
If you use Firefox browserClick Firefox at the top and choose: Select All