Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New build component compatibility

• Please log in to reply

BlackHalo

BlackHalo

• PipPipPip
  • 266 posts
Hi,

I'm a total noob at hardware components, and have displayed this noobness during the gathering of components for a new PC I would like to build. I was fine with the whole setup until I read elsewhere on this forum about problems with Quad Core processors and also Direct X10+Vista vs XP stuff.

So my questions are thus: I would like to play games such as Fallout 3, Crysis, etc on this system, how detrimental would it be to buy XP rather than Vista (as I am NOT a fan of Vista...).

Secondly, the setup I'm looking at is as follows (some of the items had to be a bit compromised due to budget-restraints) :

Intel CPU Q9400 Core 2 Quad LGA775 2.66GHz
Intel Extreme Series, 'Skyberg', Intel P45, LGA775
Transcend® JetRam™ High-Performance 1GB DDR3-1333 240-Pin Module
Transcend® JetRam™ High-Performance 2GB DDR3-1333 240-Pin Module
Seagate® Barracuda™ 7200.10 Series - 250GB Serial ATA II (SATA2)
Gigabyte® NVIDIA® GeForce 9800GT, 1GB 256Bit GDDR3
Aerocool I-Cool Plus Gaming Chassis
Unbranded PSU, 850W, Modular Gaming, 24pin, 2x6pin PCI-E
LG 19" LCD Wide 1440x900 700:1 5ms D-sub
LITEON® 22 Speed DVD Super All-Write SATA

And then of course stuff such as keyboards, etc.

I would just like to know if all these components will actually work together (had a spot of trouble in the past while with RAM modules not fitting mobo's) and secondly: do i need anything extra (such as cooling, etc).