Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

bottle necking my video cards

• Please log in to reply

wanz2lrnmr

wanz2lrnmr

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
I am somewhat illiterate as to computers and their outcome ,but here is my problem. I just invested into two 3850 video cards , and have put them in a crossfire configuration. NOW i just read that some motherboards that have two PCI express slots that say they are X16 are sometimes not wired for x16 on the second slot . I will list my build (this is my first attempted ever) ,,, Raidmax Scorpio ATX-868 case .( it came with a 420 Watt PSU, I replaced it with a 630 Rosewill Hybrid 2RX ) ,,,Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3HP 780G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard,,,AMD Athalon 64x2 5000 Brisbane 2.6GHz 2X512KB L2cache,,,Zalman CNPS9700 LED 110mm 2 ball CPU cooler,,,G.Skill HK 4GB (2x2GB) 240-pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 Dual channel kit Memory,,, Two- Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200AAJS 320GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard drives,,,Asus 22xDVD+R 8X DVD burner,,, Theater650 Pro TV tuner card,,, TWO-Sapphire 100248L Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP ready Crossfire video cards. I have also another DVD-rom player , and a Floppy disc drive ,and card reader also installed, with another 80mm fan for intake on the front and two 80mm fans on the back for exaust... I dont know if I did the right thing by purchasing the TWO video cards and setting them in crossfire configuration. I dont want to start bottle necking performance from the second card with the first , as I am somewhat computer illiterate and th