Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

blue screen and chkdsk utility


  • Please log in to reply

#1
daniella

daniella

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
hey whenever i plug in an usb port ( camera, mp3 player ) my computer goes to a blue screen
something with iq_equal_or_less
and i read the forums with blue screens and it says it's because of new hardware but i dont have any new hardware.
just internet (comcast)
and when i try to defrag it won't becuase of "chkdsk" problems.
i've tried what the other topics have said but when i go to command prompt this is what it says:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Roberts>Chkds
'Chkds' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Roberts>Chkdsk
The type of the file system is NTFS.

WARNING! F parameter not specified.
Running CHKDSK in read-only mode.

CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 3)...
Deleting corrupt attribute record (128, "")
from file record segment 12008.
Deleting corrupt attribute record (160, $I30)
from file record segment 32248.
File verification completed.

Errors found. CHKDSK cannot continue in read-only mode.

C:\Documents and Settings\Roberts>chkdsk c:
The type of the file system is NTFS.

WARNING! F parameter not specified.
Running CHKDSK in read-only mode.

CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 3)...
Deleting corrupt attribute record (128, "")
from file record segment 12008.
Deleting corrupt attribute record (160, $I30)
from file record segment 32248.
File verification completed.

Errors found. CHKDSK cannot continue in read-only mode.

C:\Documents and Settings\Roberts>chkdsk c: f/ r/
Invalid parameter - f

C:\Documents and Settings\Roberts>

and then it won't do anything else. i don't know what to do.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hello welcome to GeeksToGo, We will be happy to help you.

I will need some more information
If it is a name brand system:
Make and Model
Operating System
Age of the computer
Memory Total
Hard Drive Size, How much free space



If it is custom then I will need the following:
The CPU brand and model
The Motherboard brand and model
Ram amount and speed
Cd\Dvd rom interface IDE/ SATA
Hard Drive size and free space
Any cards in PCI slots
Any software installed\updated and driver updates done just before problem started

All this will help in determining a course of action to best correct the problem you are experiencing.
  • 0

#3
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Before we begin I would like to point out that if you are typing in commands the way you are showing then its a typo problem that is causing some of your grieve.
To run chkdsk go to
Start>Run>type in chkdsk /f and then click Enter
note the space between k and /
The system will ask if you want to schedule for the next restart, type y and hit enter
if the problem does not resolve then repeat the above steps and type in chkdsk /r
Again if the probllem does not correct then you will need to run a
sfc /scannow
Repeat the above steps to get to run window. Then type in sfc /scannow
Note the space between c and /
You will need your original OS system disc most likely
post the results after you have finished and we can continue from there

Edited by rshaffer61, 05 April 2009 - 08:13 PM.

  • 0

#4
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
That error code most likely points to RAM problems.

http://www.memtest.org/

Go here to download memtest. Go to Download (Pre-built and ISOs)

Get the file that is named Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)
It should be under v.2.11
Unzip the file once you download it. You should have a .iso file in the unzipped directory.

http://www.terabyteu...ee-software.htm

Go here and download Burncdcc. Open up the .iso file that you unzipped earlier with Burncdcc. Burn a CD using this program (burn at a slow speed (1X))

Now you should have a bootable CD that has memtest on it. This program tests your RAM and ensures it is in good condition. Once you have the CD, you should take out all sticks of RAM from your computer except one.
Boot from the disc, and run the memory test for at least 7 passes.
After this test passed or failed, try the other stick of RAM (if there is another).
Run this test overnight if you want to.

http://www.dummies.c...our-laptop.html
Read this if you have a notebook.

http://www.associate...ter.html?cat=59
Watch this video to remove RAM on a desktop.

EDIT: First try chkdsk and sfc /scannow, and then if that doesn't solve your problem, then test your RAM using the steps above.

Edited by edge2022, 05 April 2009 - 11:51 PM.

  • 0

#5
daniella

daniella

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
im sorry idk if this is the right information or not?.

If it is a name brand system:
Make and Model - Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition ; Dimension 2400
Operating System- WinXP
Age of the computer - i've had this pc for 4 years but im not sure how old it is.
Memory Total - 260,096
Hard Drive Size, How much free space - 70.8GB (hd size) & 57.4GB (free space)

Any software installed\updated and driver updates done just before problem started - internet {comcast}
  • 0

#6
daniella

daniella

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Roberts>sfc /scannow
Windows File Protection could not initiate a scan of protected system files.

The specific error code is 0x000006ba [The RPC server is unavailable.
].

that's what it leave me
  • 0

#7
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/296241

Go here and try Microsoft's resolution to the RPC server problem.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314063

This article has many tips on how to resolve the IRQL problem.

What exactly did you do with the Comcast Internet? Did you just start using it? Did the Comcast internet install anything?
Try the RAM scanning steps now, before you do anything else.
  • 0

#8
daniella

daniella

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
thanks

it was installed by comcast's workers
but i dont think they knew what they were doing.
i have high speed internet through a a cable network
  • 0

#9
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Try to scan your RAM and look through Microsoft's articles. I'm sure there is something to help you there. You might want to call Comcast and have one of their techs look this over.
Go to Start -> Run -> msconfig
Under the startup tab, do you see anything Comcast related, if so then disable it and reboot, and try connecting a usb device.
Also use the hotkey WIN + Pause/Break (The WIN key is the one with the Windows logo on it)
Under the hardware tab, click on device manager.
Expand each category and see if there is a mark (yellow exclamation mark) next to any of the devices.
  • 0

#10
daniella

daniella

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
i did call them and they said the internet wasn't installed properly because i had spyware or whatever
and i know i had downloaded "spyguard 2008" something like that && i think they siad it was rouge malware.
and i've tried removing it with mbam but everything i download it even when i change the setup name it still doesnt work. but Dell software crew said they removed it for me because i still had warranty and we ordered something to remove it but that was in Decemeber. I received internet in late Jan. after it had been removed so i wouldnt think that the spyguard would be a problem.

&& when i expand under device manager there's a yellow cicle beside "Icatch (IV) Video Camera Device"
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Do you use that device?
If not, then uninstall the driver and reinstall it.

Right click on the device and select properties. Under the driver tab, click uninstall driver. Reboot and see if your problem went away.
Once again, test your RAM using the steps given above.
  • 0

#12
daniella

daniella

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
yes i use that device
& i have uninstalled it & reinstalled it twice.
and somedays it go away but then it comes back.

and i can't do a ram test unless i have blank cds correct?
  • 0

#13
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
Yea, you need blank cds to do the RAM test.
  • 0

#14
daniella

daniella

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
i dont have any at the moment
but wen i buy some i will do the ram test. is there anything else i can do while im waiting?
  • 0

#15
edge2022

edge2022

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
To make sure the problem is not about malware you should go here
http://www.geekstogo...uide-t2852.html

If malware is detected, and cannot be solved after going through this article, then make a new topic in the malware forum.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP