Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

High pitched


  • Please log in to reply

#1
JungleTim

JungleTim

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Hey my brother was messing with my sound now its all high pitched i have re installed drivers etc
just no change (headphones/speakers)


:)
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
What exactly did your brother do?
It sounds like he disconnected the speakers and when he plugged them back in he got them in the wrong plug in on the back of the system.

I will need some more information
If it is a name brand system:
Make and Model
Operating System
Age of the computer
Memory Total
Hard Drive Size, How much free space



If it is custom then I will need the following:
The CPU brand and model
The Motherboard brand and model
Ram amount and speed
Cd\Dvd rom interface IDE/ SATA
Hard Drive size and free space
Any cards in PCI slots
Any software installed\updated and driver updates done just before problem started

All this will help in determining a course of action to best correct the problem you are experiencing.
  • 0

#3
JungleTim

JungleTim

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
microsoft windows xp media centre version 2002

service pack 2

Fujistu siemens scaleo p

intel pentium 4ht cpu 3.20ghz , 3.19ghz , 2x 2gb ram


well the sound was working fine untill my brother was fiddiling with the settings, every sound on my computer is squeaky now (high pitched)
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK sounds like he changed treble and bass settings
Lets see
Go to start>all programs>accessories>entertainment>volume control
Then the first control is Volume Control
Under that should be a Advanced button..click that
In there should be bass and treble controls... by default they are set to low and greyed out.
  • 0

#5
JungleTim

JungleTim

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
n there should be bass and treble controls... by default they are set to low and greyed out

yeh cant touch them
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Did you check the connections in the back of the system and make sure they were in the right place?
  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
One other ideal. Do your speakers have their own bass\treble setting on them?
Also you may check and see if the speaker configuration has been changed in windows

Hmm an obvious question I forgot to ask
Are you listening to audio, watching movies or video, or on the internet when this is happening?
What program are you using?

Edited by rshaffer61, 06 April 2009 - 06:38 PM.

  • 0

#8
JungleTim

JungleTim

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
realtek driver im sure

and yes (Are you listening to audio, watching movies or video, or on the internet when this is happening?
What program are you using)

all the other stuff yes plugged in
  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok are you using windows media player for all these files types or a different app for each?
Also if possible do you have another set of speakers to try?
This way we can rule out hardware as the problem and work on the sound and software

Edited by rshaffer61, 06 April 2009 - 07:55 PM.

  • 0

#10
JungleTim

JungleTim

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
well it doesn't matter what program media player etc happens on you tube games anything with sound i have tried all outputs that i have still the chipmunks sound
  • 0

#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
ok then lets work on the drivers then. Go Here and download the newest AC97 driver for your system.
It will be the second one down for Win 98\me\xp
Install it and post back with results
  • 0

#12
JungleTim

JungleTim

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Great all done thanks for your help much appreciated


really big thumbs up thanks for your time. :)

Edited by JungleTim, 08 April 2009 - 02:20 PM.

  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK go Here Enter your PRODUCT SERIAL-/IDENTNUMBER and follow the prompts. Find the driver for your soundcard. Download and install it. Try your sound and let me know if this fixes the problem

If it doesn't then at this point I would say then you have a sound card problem. If this is the case then you would need to purchase a addon sound card and then disable the onboard.

For my own curiousity how old is the system?
Is it still under warranty?
If so then you will want to contact Fujitsu and see if they can supply more precise support and\or advise on replacing with a add on card they suggest.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP