Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First Time PC Build

• Please log in to reply

Icdblc13

Icdblc13

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Howdy

I'm building my first pc (a budget gamer). I want to build a pc that works well now, but is also a sturdy foundation for upgrades in the future. Being that this is my first time, I'd like to make sure that all of the parts I've selected are compatable and will give me good performance. If you have any suggestions about alternative parts or something I may have missed, I'd be happy to hear them. Here is my tentative parts list

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma 2.7GHz Black Edition = $65
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P = $110
Graphics Card: XFX GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB (with free copy of FarCry2!) = $115
Memory: OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) = $37
Hard Drive(s): Western Digital Caviar WD2500BB 250GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache (will get two and set to RAID 0) = $70
Rom Drive: LITE-ON 22x DVD Burner = $22
Case w/ 480w Power Supply: $32

And that's that. I supplied the links to the parts, and you may notice that they are all from newegg.com. I'm not opposed to going to other sites, they just had the best deals that I found. So I would love to hear any feedback that you could give me. Thanks much!

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
One suggestion I would give.
Either buy a better PSU or a case with a better PSU.