Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Continually upgrading when shutting down; not installing upgrades

• Please log in to reply

davidlewis

davidlewis

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi, this is my first posting on this site and I'm a real novice at this computer business - so please be gentle...!

I have Window XP. When ever I shut down the computer the message comes up that the computer is saving settings and installing upgrades (always 2 upgrades). It does this whenever shutting down, often many times a day.
I'm sure the computer shouldn't be doing this (?!). I've checked the Automatic Updates function in My Computer and it is set to only do it once a day (early in the morning)

Also often when I start up the computer I get an icon on the bottom right of desktop (yellow shield shape with an exclamation mark). When I select it and attempt to update as it suggests, it doesn't work. Comes up with the message "Security update for Microsoft Office 2003 (KB951535) failed, Security update for Microsoft Word Viewer 2003 (KB956366) failed".

Can anyone tell me how to resolve these problems?

thanks David

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
Thanks to The Skeptic for the following explanation