Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Maths Talk

• Please log in to reply

Perplexed Number

Perplexed Number

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hi all,
Maths tends to be associated with 'Geek-e-ness' , however It can be pretty 'cool' :) .
I just wondered if any fellow G2G users had an interest in Maths, and to what level they have studied it.
I am currently studying Maths and Further Maths here in England (as well as some science subjects).

This summer I will be sitting two pure maths modules and one applied maths (mechanics) module.

Although I'm better at the pure stuff, I enjoy the applied because it shows a good practical application for the things we learn. I remember when I was younger I would wonder when these mathematical techniques would be used in 'real life', however now I can see so many applications for them.

Later this year I will be studying a module of maths that relates quite nicely to computing, algorithms etc. So that should also be quite interesting.

So my questions to you all are do you enjoy maths, and what maths are you currently studying or using in industry.

Perplexed Number

Advertisements

random/random

random/random

Visiting Staff

• Visiting Consultant
  • 142 posts
Currently Studying: First year of the Mathematics degree at the University of Cambridge

Later this year I will be studying a module of maths that relates quite nicely to computing, algorithms etc. So that should also be quite interesting.