Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Cant access my external hard drive

• Please log in to reply

2ndMOUSE02

2ndMOUSE02

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Im a musician.
I got a corrupted hard drive about 5 years ago , and lost tracks , sounds , samples , beats everything. I was inconsolable.
I pulled myself together and bought a 320GB western digital ( my book ) so i could backup everything onto it and wouldnt be putting all my eggs in one hard drive , so to speak.

My system is an acer aspire 3200+ running windows vista home basic which came shipped on it. Everything was fine until one day about 2 weeks ago , the sound disappeared ( the windows default sounds and things like winamp and windows media player ) although my music software was still outputting sound through my M-Audio fasttrack pro audio interface and my M-Audio BX5a monitors )

so....i decided that i wanted to do a fresh install of windows vista ( as i was having stuttery playback through my music software too , and needed that clean fresh feeling lol )
I put in the acer " set to factory default configuration " disc , unplugged the hard drive i'm having problems with , and everything went smoothly despite being peeved at the number of restarts it had to do.
I seen the nice clean desktop and felt a new sense of freedom !!

I plugged my hard drive in , where all my songs , sounds , data , photos etc.... are stored , and to my horror , it wasnt showing in " my computer ".
I thought " thats really really strange "........=(