Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Blue screen of Death [Dont you love it when that happens?]


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Grenadingbadger

Grenadingbadger

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Background of Desktop that may be causing problems:
2 video drivers for the one it has, no clue how to just uninstall one, however one is disabled.
2 anti virus programs, McAfee and Avast!
Recently instlled an updater for the video driver provided by Intel, trying to see if that would delelte the files of the repeat. Did not work.

2 video drivers is because windows spazzed on me and said the driver was no longer supported and needed to be updated, Dell provided nothing, and Intel said the most reacent versions were not made for this computer, and I must go to the manufacturer website. [so back to square one, but I have determined nothing can be done]

2 virus programs: Mother is anal about computer, nuff said
Only things that can be causing this.

When it occurs:
As I am playing Spore, after around 4 hours, I get the nuke.
As I was reinstalling Spore [worked fine], I unmounted the file and mounted on the expansion pack with power iso. BOOM, gone.

Now, after my research, I have found errors relating to both bringing the blue screen of death, but more specifically 2 anti virus programs, however this is the first time that it has done this, telling me that I probably screwed somethin up with the drivers.

However, last time I was playing spore with trainers and such was before avast was put on here, so that leads me back to the two anti virus systems. And right now the McaFee is the one that is bugging me cause it is always deleting the file as a virus, [unimportant, just for information

Now ever since I messed up the drivers, the computer has been crashing, so I do not get this.

Here is the Blue screan of death error line [far left cut off for some reason]
"
STOP 0X0000008E (0XC0000005, OXF86B912F, 0XA93DD9C0, 0X00000000)
aswTdi.SYS - Address F86B912F base at F86B5000, Datestamp 492d7475"

Mentions memory a lot in the screen, and From what I can tell, aswTdi.SYS is the error system log for avast, that does not show up in safe mode-

So people, tell me what it is that I need to do here:
Uninstall avast,
or get rid of the repeat driver, [I will need to be informed of how to do so] \
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
Hi and welcome to geeks to go.

First off, 2 antivirus programs will be fighting each other. I recommend you uninstall McAfee and use the cleanup tool for it that is in my signature.
The cleanup tool will get rid of the remnants that it will leave.

What other type of security does she have?
Malwarebytes is a good one for anti-malware. The free one is perfect.

When was the last time you cleaned out the temp files, cache, and cookies?
ATF Cleaner is good for that.

You should also do a defrag of the drive.
As for the video driver, if is disabled it should not be effecting you.

Now for some info.
What is the OS you are using? including service pack.
How much memory (ram) is installed?
How big is the hard drive? and how much free space?
  • 0

#3
Grenadingbadger

Grenadingbadger

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Thank you for the welcome ^^

Windows XP Service pack 3
500 MB of ram
80 gigs of memory [That is horrible for a desktop, but it isnt mine.]
Free space is around 20-30 gigs.
Dell computer
Dell bios [up to date]

I Do not know the last time that she cleaned it out, according to her, it was a few months ago. I did manually empty all 50,000 temp files [There were probably more that that]
It hasn't been defragged within the past 2 months either.
Lastly she has the default windows firewall. Nothing else

I can not remove McAcrap because, as I said, this is my mothers computer.
McAcrap makes my mother "feel safe" because it is the default antivirus program and RoadRunner keeps it updated
That is a bad decision I know, but she will not change her mind about it.
I believe I covered just about everything

Edited by Grenadingbadger, 09 May 2009 - 10:02 AM.

  • 0

#4
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
Then you will have to remove Avast because they will fight each other and give false positives and take out files that are good.

I dumped McAfee a while ago because it eats resources.
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
First the memory is not adequate as it is near the minimum for XP to run correctly. With that said please
Go HERE and run the Crucial online scanner.
This will give you the exact memory configuration for your system. You do not have to buy the memory from there, but write down the information and if you need assistance in purchasing the upgrade memory GTG can assist with suggestions also.

Second the stop error you are getting points to a conflict with a device driver

Download WhoCrashed from the link in my signature below
This program checks for any drivers which may have been causing your computer to crash....

Click on the file you just downloaded and run it.
Put a tick in Accept then click on Next
Put a tick in the Don't create a start menu folder then click Next
Put a tick in Create a Desktop Icon then click on Install[/b and make sure there is a tick in Launch Whocrashed before clicking Finish
Click Analyze
It will want to download the Debugger and install it {b]Say Yes


WhoCrashed will create report but you have to scroll down to see it
Copy and paste it into your next reply

Lets see what you have in your startup

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything and restart.
If system boots correctly and is running smoothly and faster then we have a startup problem
Try going back into msconfig and check one item and reboot
Keep doing that till you have found the problem or all are finally checked.
Post back with the results

And Last but not least

Please Go to
1: STARTand the click on RUN
2: Type in devmgmt.msc
3: Click Enter
4. Look for any entries with Yellow Exclamation marks or Red X's

In your next reply please include those results
  • 0

#6
Grenadingbadger

Grenadingbadger

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Here is the WhoCrashed report

On Sat 5/9/2009 4:04:48 PM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: aswtdi.sys
Bugcheck code: 0x1000008E (0xC0000005, 0xF86B912F, 0xA93DD9C0, 0x0)
Error: KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M
file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\aswtdi.sys
product: avast! Antivirus System
company: ALWIL Software
description: avast! TDI Filter Driver



On Wed 5/6/2009 3:22:34 AM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: ialmnt5.sys
Bugcheck code: 0x10000050 (0xE2600004, 0x1, 0xF79C5D2E, 0x1)
Error: Unknown
file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\ialmnt5.sys
product: Intel Graphics Accelerator Drivers for Windows NT®
company: Intel Corporation
description: Intel Graphics Miniport Driver



On Wed 6/11/2008 4:54:51 AM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: senfilt.sys
Bugcheck code: 0x1000008E (0xC0000090, 0xF7F4DC5C, 0xA95AC2A8, 0x0)
Error: KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M
file path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\senfilt.sys
company: Creative Technology Ltd.
description: Creative WDM Audio Driver


The latest one, I see was Avast.
The second crash is obviously because of the 2 video cards that I have installed [Same exact ones by the way.]
I am unsure of the last one

-There is no problem with the startup, only runs quicker if I make it skip bootingup Avast and Mcafee, after the two systems are up, it is fine
-I understand it has horrible RAM, but I can not change that. My mother has to.
-The device manager has an error on the second video driver because I disabled it after the first crash.

So how do I remove the second video driver? [Got on there in the first place because it was supposed to "update" my current driver, but just installed the driver again.]

Edited by Grenadingbadger, 09 May 2009 - 11:15 AM.

  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
"The device manager has an error on the second video driver because I disabled it after the first crash. So how do I remove the second video driver? [Got on there in the first place because it was supposed to "update" my current driver, but just installed the latest one.]"

Yes uninstall it through Device Manager

Next:

Lets see what you have in your startup

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything that has to do with Avast and restart.
If system boots correctly and is running smoothly and faster then we have a startup problem

Post back with the results
  • 0

#8
Grenadingbadger

Grenadingbadger

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Alright well here is a problem:
After I uninstall the driver and reboot, guess what.

Windows just reinstalls it :)
How Do I fix that?

Whenever I was working on my laptop, making the IGP Radeon 340 read as a 7000, I had to use the DriverCleaner.net tool to remove all traces of the files from the system to make it so that it will not automatically reinstall the driver whenever I boot up again.
However I do not want to do this, because I would have to uninstall both, where I only need to get rid of one.

[Edited the previous post of mine, clarifying that the "update" installed the driver a second time, making me have 2 of the same driver installed]

Edited by Grenadingbadger, 09 May 2009 - 11:26 AM.

  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is this driver for a onboard video? If so then you will need to get into the Bios and Disable it.
Clikc F10 to save and exit and then Y to verify save and exit
  • 0

#10
Grenadingbadger

Grenadingbadger

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Okay- here is a problem though.

The bios is only showing 1 video card, that is it.
Windows device manager is showing 2 of the same video card.
I do not believe the issue is the bios- only the windows registry.

I guess I will have to uninstall it, wipe the registry of anything relating to the driver, and finally reinstall it...
*sigh* I love windows... ;-;
  • 0

#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is the bios showing a onboard video? That's what I'm worried about because if it is then that is your problem.
If you want to fix the registry then I would suggest running the SFC /SCANNOW
To do that:


Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#12
Grenadingbadger

Grenadingbadger

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Again, I thank you for the help.

I know there is nothing wrong with the Bios at this point, Windows has been lets just say *annoying* me too much for it to be the Bios.

Now here is where I stand with the 2 video drivers:
I have it now to where it says under Display Adapters in Computer management
-Intel® 82916G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family

And that is it WOOT

However. The second one is now under "Other devices"
-Video Controller

How do I rid the computer of this nuisance? [I disabled the driver to be safe]

I am about to do what you said with the "sfc /scannow" Even though I do not see a purpose when I am sure there is a way of deleting it from the registry manually.
I shall do what you said anyways and post back with results

Here is what I did to get just one active Display Adapter

***Steps***
1: Go into Safe Mode
2: Device manager
3: Uninstall the SECOND driver [in the properties it will say 0x1 instead of 0x0- 0x0 is the default one, leave that]
4: Go into C: drive and then into "DRIVERS" look for the driver you use, delete all files WITHIN the folder
5: Run DriverCleaner.Net and set it to the filter for the video driver
6: Restart.
7: [Optional, but recommended] Throw a party, making sure you invite the anteater.
***Done***

Note: IT shall prompt [FINALLY] if you wish to install the new found hardware [You see DriverCleaner was nice enough to remove the files for installing it, while keeping the one in use ^^
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP