Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

upgradable to windows xp?

• Please log in to reply

bluee

bluee

• PipPip
  • 61 posts
i am currently running on windows me and i want to upgrade to windows xp. Here is my hardware list:

mobo- msi k7n2-v (ms-6729)
cpu- amd athlon xp 2400+
RAM- kingston 512mb
hd- western digital 80g 7200rpm 8mb chache
video card- radeon 9200 128mb

i cant upgrade to windows xp... is there nething i can do to make my hardware compatible? i am fairly new at computer stuff and am not sure what BIOS i have and how to upgrade them and what not... so if u guys could tell me what to do so i can use windows xp that would be great.

Advertisements

admin

admin

Founder Geek

• Community Leader
  • 24,639 posts
Hi bluee, welcome to GTG! <_<

Looking at your hardware you should have no problem upgrading to XP--and you'll sure be glad to get rid of ME!

Are you getting an error message when you try installing XP?

bluee

bluee

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
i took my computer to a person who lives up the street he said that windows xp didnt work so i havent tried to install it infear of loosing my current os. Is there a way to "save" my hard drive incase it fails so i dont loose ne of my current stuff?

tazz1964

tazz1964

• PipPipPip
  • 608 posts
Hi