Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

BSOD in regular boot, not in others.

• Please log in to reply

coastalcathy

coastalcathy

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Newbie here, so be kind. Wicked Facebook gave me the xp deluxe defender virus yesterday. I ran Spy Doctor and it took it away after much wrestling and struggling and fighting. It was a hard won victory, but I still have scars. If I boot the computer normally, it boots fine. However, as soon as I try to do any work, even clicking on a desktop icon, BAM I get the BSOD. I can run in Safe, Safe Networking, and even do everything normally if I run in Last know working configuration. However, I cannot get the system restore to work. I get a message that it is not working. And, I cannot get this thing work under a regular boot. I've looked high and low for problems in the drivers, problems with a piece of the virus left. Can't find anything anywhere. I seem to be virus-free except for the boot issue. Here's the blue screen I get when I try to work with a normal boot:

A problem has been detect and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer. "Me talking here - Windows is not capitalized - could this screen be bogus?"

If this is the firt time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to see if you have adequate disc space. If a driver is identified in the stop message, disble the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video adaptors.