Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

hard drive memory question


  • Please log in to reply

#1
hannah!

hannah!

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
This will sounds like a really stupid question but if i downloaded somethng that would take up like 5GB or something if i went to delete it would all 5GB go back onto my hard drive or would i lose some memory in the process?
thanks
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Two different questions:

if i downloaded somethng that would take up like 5GB or something if i went to delete it would all 5GB go back onto my hard drive


Yes if you Defrag you should get it all back.

would i lose some memory in the process


Memory does not get lost when deleting files
Hard drive is for storage as you are saying I believe and the memory is what allows you to open more programs at one time and run them effectively.

I hope this answers your question and just a FYI. There is never a stupid question except the one you fail to ask. :) :) :)

Edited by rshaffer61, 29 June 2009 - 10:17 AM.

  • 0

#3
Digerati

Digerati

    Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

  • Retired Staff
  • 3,997 posts
  • MVP
The stupid question is the one not asked. deleting a file

if i delete it would all...go back

Yes, it all goes back. You don't even have to defrag. Once the disk gets the command to delete, ALL the sectors are marked free. You can easliy see this yourself by copying a file, note the space, then delete the file. You will get back every last bit - pun intended.
  • 0

#4
Broni

Broni

    Kraków my love :)

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
Make sure, you empty Recycle Bin.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP