Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows XP Boot Error

• Please log in to reply

draftin21

draftin21

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hey all, first off im a newb here so be gentle...lol

OK, so whats going on....

Might as well tell the hole story so you know whats up.

First what caused the problem. My friend and I were drinking (yea any story that starts this way is usually not good) one night and i had my laptop sitting on the ground with us because i had my girlfriend from Michigan (im from IL but she will be moving back soon...) on webcam hanging with us....long story short, i spilled a drink on the keyboard...

Now, what currently is going on is that I have tried to boot the computer a few times and it went through it standard checks and actually booted up to the log in screen a few times, however, at this current moment will no longer do that.

I currently am getting a error that reads that im missing a file: <WindowsRoot>\System32\hal.dll

:)

Now i have read a few other threads that had this error in it and have seen that theres a way to replace this however, i do not have a reinstall CD with me as this is a work computer.... <-- Yea the other s.h.i.t.t.y part.

Lastly, the one other thing that i have found out is that i no longer have a working keyboard on the laptop so im hoping that purchasing a new "part" will fix this problem as i can still plug in a USB keyboard and mouse and they work.