Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Lenovo 3000 J205 Internet not working after reformat


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Normalcy

Normalcy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
I was trying to fix a friends computer, it was pretty much unable to go to the desktop, safe mode or normal. so I reformatted it since there was nothing he wanted on it. I installed XP and it runs fine.. but it does not have the Ethernet card driver. I have tried ALL<---(Emphasis) of the lenovos site drivers for this computer. Nothing works. I have also tried using my ancient "Belkin 54g wireless usb...thing" the first version. I tried installing the drivers for that too=nothing. I dont know what ethernet card it is, as in DXdiag, and in hardware all it says is "Ethernet Card"

I also tried upgrading back to his vista from his cd's and its the same problem.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
diabillic

diabillic

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
Serial number? I will see whats available on their site

Edited by diabillic, 20 July 2009 - 04:18 PM.

  • 0

#3
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Go to Lenovo\IBM drivers download page and make sure the correct model is shown at the top of the page. Scroll down till you find the:
Networking
Marvell Ethernet
section and download the driver.
Install it and then let us know if network card is now working.
  • 0

#4
Normalcy

Normalcy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
Yes iv tried that one too. I tried installing that driver, and every other one besides the thinkcentres. Nothing tends to happen. (He has windows XP again)
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Please Go to
1: STARTand the click on RUN
2: Type in devmgmt.msc
3: Click Enter
4. Look for any entries with Yellow Exclamation ! marks or Red X's


In your next reply please include those results


Download SIW from HERE and get the Standalone English version
It will install itself and when finished
Then Click on SIW Icon to run program
On the left side click on the Network Cards directory and then on the right, copy and paste the information in your next reply

Below I am attaching a example of the window you will be looking at.
Disregard what it has highlighted and look below the Motherboard entry on the left. you will see the Network Cards directory.
  • 0

#6
Normalcy

Normalcy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
The network adaptors part all it showed in there was "Home-e9248169b(thinkcentre xxx) and then there was this for the ethernet adaptor = "Property Value
Device ID PCI\VEN_11ABDEV_436BSUBSYS_303017AAREV_16\46546BB700038
"

I dont think that means anything though
  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
This is a clue to what we need to find.
Home-e9248169b(thinkcentre xxx)
Going to work on that right now.
  • 0

#8
Normalcy

Normalcy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
This is just wierd.. He's saying he got that computer from telus two years ago, but it looks and peforms like one from 1999. Its utter garbage.. Vista had no drivers for it.. except the sound
  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Anything in Device Manager with X's or Exclamation marks next to it?
Does it show a category for network at all?
  • 0

#10
diabillic

diabillic

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
Let try Unknown Device Identifier as well. Find the Ethernet Controller and post up a screen shot with all the + signs expanded.

For example:

Posted Image

Edited by diabillic, 20 July 2009 - 08:24 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Normalcy

Normalcy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts

Anything in Device Manager with X's or Exclamation marks next to it?
Does it show a category for network at all?


In the device manager it has a yellow question mark on it.It says this device is not working properly or something along those lines. I physically hate his computer. From what I remember there was no category for network. hes sleeping right now so I'll check tommorow, it was in a list of the stuff that was not installed (like the sound card / video card)

Edited by Normalcy, 20 July 2009 - 09:02 PM.

  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK thank you. If you could open Device Manager and make sure the areas with the red or yellow marks are showing. Then take a screenshot.
Attach it to your next reply in the morning if you like.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#13
Normalcy

Normalcy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
ok the screenshot wont work for some reason,it keeps coming up blank in mspaint. But the section the ethernet adaptor is in is other devices
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Any red X's or yellow exclamation marks next to anything?
I have XP Pro SP3 and my Device manager has a Network Adapters Directory.
  • 0

#15
Normalcy

Normalcy

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
Theres no red, its just a yellow question mark..i think i said that already, not sure.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP