Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

RAM Compatiblity

• Please log in to reply

kathijohnston

kathijohnston

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi,
My first post! So glad your out there! Thanks in advance!

I'm upgrading a friend's computer. I am no novice. I can do the job, as long as it goes smooth. When things go wrong, that is when I have problems. I don't know enough in that regard.

System Info:
Dell Dimension 8250 Pentium 4
Processor running at 2.4Ghz
RAM: 256
RAM Type: (2x128) PC1066 RDRAM 533MHz 184 Pin RIMM RAMBUS NON-ECC 32NS

Hard Drive: 120 Gigabyte (85% free)
Video Card: GeForce4 MX420 (Driver Version 4.17.00.45.af)
Integrated RAMDAC 64 MB
Operating System: Windows XP 2002 w/Service Pack 3

Machine Purchased: 2/4/2003 (probably "2nd generation P4")

I ordered 2 sticks of RAM-part no: MR16R1624DFO-CT9 1066 32P 102
I got one stick of MR16R1624DFO-CT9 1066 32P 102
and one stick of MR16R1624DFO-CT9 1066 32P 012

I put the RAM in and got a message that says "memory address line failure amount of system ram has changed press f1 to continue press f1 to continue f2 to enter setup". I pressed f1. It piddled around a bit, XP logo came up...then the blue screen with a bunch of stuff on it saying something changed in Hardware of software and at the bottom a Memory dump. It said if it was the first time seeing the screen to reboot, I did, got the same blue screen and this time pressed f2. I could see only in System RAM that the system saw all for sticks of 128 non-ecc, but that was about it.