Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

first build - looking for advice

• Please log in to reply

DGRipan

DGRipan

• Pip
  • 2 posts
hi!

i've been looking around for a new computer, but then decided it was best just to get all the parts that i wanted myself and try to build it. i've never done this before so i'm not 100% sure that i got all the parts that i need and that they will actually fit. one thing is for sure though: it definitely is a lot of fun spending time looking for the best parts and trying to build a computer from scratch. i've spent far too many late nights / early mornings in the past week doing so.

the build that i had in mind won't be too expensive - my budget is about $500-$550 and the most demanding tasks will be video and music playing, also, occasionally, gaming (not the most recent games).

i'd really appreciate some input. is there anything that could be better that i could get for less or the same amount of money? is something completely out of place? i'm sure i've missed something.

Case: SilverStone TJ08

PSU: Corsair VX450W

Motherboard: ASUS M3A78-EM AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard with: ATI Radeon HD 3200, Realtek ALC1200, Onboard LAN

CPU: AMD Athlon64 X2 7850 2.8Ghz, Dual Core, 3MB, 95W, Socket AM2+, Black Edition

Video card: will upgrade later

RAM: Kingston HyperX Dual Channel Kit - 4 GB ( 2 x 2 GB ) - DIMM 240-pin - DDR2 1066mhz

DVD: DVD±RW Samsung 22X DL S-ATA (i just picked the cheapest one - bad idea?)

Hard drive: got a 500gb one, might buy another one later.