Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Slow unresponsive vista

• Please log in to reply

Darken1

Darken1

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
I have been using windows vista ultimate 64-bit for about 6 months now, I keep it up to date and clean it often. The other day I was updating and cleaning my PC. I installed the latest Nvidia 190.38 driver for my GTX295, then used glary utilities, advanced system care free and smart defrag. After all of these my computer got very slow taking close to 7 mins just to start windows.

I thought that maybe the cleaning software had messed up my registry so I did a full format of my drive reinstalled windows and started with a clean slate. I first installed all of the new drivers, mother board and graphics card. Then proceeded to install all of my other software. One of the problems from before the format was that fire fox would stop responding and take forever to load. Now after the format I could go to all of the software websites and load pages and download files with no problem. I got all of my software from filehippo.com and downloads.com. I then proceeded to install all of my video games let it run all night while it installed my steam games. The next afternoon everything was working fine until I started to install gears of war. My computer sat there decompressing the install files for 4 hours and the loading bar never moved. I restarted before this install and when the loading bar stopped I could still operate the entire computer I could go to my start menu and everything but gears of war would not install.