Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

computer won't power up

• Please log in to reply

tybee

tybee

• PipPip
  • 14 posts
I am in the process of upgrading two computers. One gets new stuff and one gets my old stuff. My problem occurred when I tried to power up the second computer with my old stuff. The fans (cpu, video card, case, and ps) all come on for maybe 1 second and then shut off... that's it. I have to remove and reapply power to repeat the cycle.

I have some experience in building and upgrading computers and some experience in troubleshooting but not diagnosing problems like this. I don't know what parameters or components to check. I have rechecked my install connections several times; removing and reinstalling everything. Nothing looks obvious and I don't know what to check for next.

I sure would appreciate some help. Thank you in advance.

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
By rebuilding does this mean you put a different MOBO in?
If so you may have accidentally have gotten a standoff in the wrong place under the MOBO.
This would cause a short resulting in the issue you are having.
Try the next steps to check this.

Disconnect everything from the Motherboard except

* keyboard
* mouse
* video output
* 20+4 powercable
* 4/8 pin 12v wire both coming from the powersupply,
* Cpu fan wire
* power and reset button to the case
*case speaker

Now you should have NOTHING connected to the motherboard except what was listed above.

The goal here is just to test the mobo: