Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

internet not working after plugged into router


  • Please log in to reply

#1
daathvader

daathvader

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
so ya, ive had my mothers computer hooked up to wirless forever and day. she moved recently and ive had to set everything up again, but when i went to get the router set back up after comcast hooked up the net at her new place, the internet wont work. her computer is hardwired directly into the router and its also a wireless. ive reset the router by the button and ive also done a complete factory restore in the router settings as well. when i go into command and do an ipconfig /all it shows i have an ip. but when i try to ping someone the request times out. SOMEONE PLEEEEASE HELP SO I CAN GO HOME!
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Lets try and see whether you have equipment related problems. In this step, we will allow the equipment to self-diagnose and resolve the problems. If you suddenly lose connectivity over your High Speed Internet line, have a slow connection or are unable to browse the Internet despite indications that you are connected, it is possible that your modem is not communicating properly with the Internet network. Save all your current work, close all open applications, then shut down your computer ...

unplug router and modem Power up the modem first and after it gets initialized and all the lites are steady..
power up the router...after all the lites are on...
power up the computer...
The above steps should take care of your problem ...
no joy then try this..
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2. For these commands click on Start.... Run..... type in...CMD ....to open a command prompt box Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults...type in ... netsh winsock reset catalog .... press ...enter Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults...type in...... netsh int ip reset reset.log ... press ...enter reboot

still not working...try this...
Copy what is listed between the lines into notepad and save as... flushdns.cmd with quotes as in...
"flushdns.cmd" and save it to your desktop
click save...name it..."flushdns.cmd" ...click save as type...all files...in the encoding section select ANSI...click save
NOTE the single space before the /
====================COPY BETWEEN HERE========================
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns

=======================AND HERE=======================
YOU WILL HAVE A ICON ON YOUR DESKTOP THAT LOOKS LIKE A GEAR...double click it..
  • 0

#3
daathvader

daathvader

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
ive been out of town for some time and im finally getting back to this. ok so ive done all that and its still not working. i wanted to add that when the computer is hardwired directly to the modem the internet is working fine no problem. then when i hook the internet line into the router and then from the router into the computer it says its connect but when i go to the status its sending and receiving data is almost frozen. when i go into cmd and do an ipconfig /all it gives me an ip and it says everythings working. ive even gone as far as reseting the router back to factory defaults. is there anything else?
  • 0

#4
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
are you hooked up like this....
  • 0

#5
daathvader

daathvader

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
that is how it is hooked up. wall to modem, modem to router, router hardwired into desktop, and wifi to laptops. like i said though, when its straight from modem into desktop, it works perfect. but when i plug it from modem to router i get an ip and it says its connected but i have no data transfer and when i try to access an internet webpage it gives me the operation has timed out.
  • 0

#6
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Please download VEW the Event Viewer Tool by Vino Rosso from here and save it to your Desktop...
Double-click VEW.exe
Under Select log to query...put ticks in both application and system
Under Select type to list... select both error and critical
Click the radio button for 'Number of events...Type 5 in the 1 to 20 box
Then click the Run button.

Notepad will open with the output log.

Please post the Output log in your next reply
  • 0

#7
daathvader

daathvader

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
ok i know this may be a dumb question but am i going to run vew when im running the internet straight from the modem to the computer or from router to computer? im going to do both just in case.
  • 0

#8
daathvader

daathvader

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
this report is for when my mothers computer is hardwired directly to the desktop.

Vino's Event Viewer v01c run on Windows XP in English
Report run at 24/08/2009 7:04:36 PM

Note: All dates below are in the format dd/mm/yyyy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'Application' Log - error Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:06 PM
Type: error Category: 3
Event: 439 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (1152) Unable to write a shadowed header for file C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb. Error -1011.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:06 PM
Type: error Category: 1
Event: 488 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (1152) An attempt to create the file "C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb" failed with system error 1450 (0x000005aa): "Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service. ". The create file operation will fail with error -1011 (0xfffffc0d).

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:04 PM
Type: error Category: 3
Event: 439 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (3440) Unable to write a shadowed header for file C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb. Error -1011.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:04 PM
Type: error Category: 1
Event: 488 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (3440) An attempt to create the file "C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb" failed with system error 1450 (0x000005aa): "Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service. ". The create file operation will fail with error -1011 (0xfffffc0d).

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:02 PM
Type: error Category: 3
Event: 439 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (4012) Unable to write a shadowed header for file C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb. Error -1011.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'System' Log - error Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 6:17:14 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 10005 Source: DCOM
DCOM got error "%1058" attempting to start the service MDM with arguments "" in order to run the server: {0C0A3666-30C9-11D0-8F20-00805F2CD064}

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 6:17:07 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 10005 Source: DCOM
DCOM got error "%1058" attempting to start the service MDM with arguments "" in order to run the server: {0C0A3666-30C9-11D0-8F20-00805F2CD064}

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 4:36:29 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 1002 Source: Dhcp
The IP address lease 192.168.1.101 for the Network Card with network address 0016175F7FC2 has been denied by the DHCP server 68.87.74.13 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 4:27:34 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 10005 Source: DCOM
DCOM got error "%1058" attempting to start the service MDM with arguments "" in order to run the server: {0C0A3666-30C9-11D0-8F20-00805F2CD064}

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 4:27:27 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 10005 Source: DCOM
DCOM got error "%1058" attempting to start the service MDM with arguments "" in order to run the server: {0C0A3666-30C9-11D0-8F20-00805F2CD064}





this report is for when my computer is hardwired into the router






Vino's Event Viewer v01c run on Windows XP in English
Report run at 24/08/2009 7:07:47 PM

Note: All dates below are in the format dd/mm/yyyy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'Application' Log - error Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:06 PM
Type: error Category: 3
Event: 439 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (1152) Unable to write a shadowed header for file C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb. Error -1011.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:06 PM
Type: error Category: 1
Event: 488 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (1152) An attempt to create the file "C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb" failed with system error 1450 (0x000005aa): "Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service. ". The create file operation will fail with error -1011 (0xfffffc0d).

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:04 PM
Type: error Category: 3
Event: 439 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (3440) Unable to write a shadowed header for file C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb. Error -1011.

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:04 PM
Type: error Category: 1
Event: 488 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (3440) An attempt to create the file "C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb" failed with system error 1450 (0x000005aa): "Insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service. ". The create file operation will fail with error -1011 (0xfffffc0d).

Log: 'Application' Date/Time: 20/08/2009 10:52:02 PM
Type: error Category: 3
Event: 439 Source: ESENT
wuauclt (4012) Unable to write a shadowed header for file C:\WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\tmp.edb. Error -1011.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
'System' Log - error Type
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Log: 'System' Date/Time: 24/08/2009 7:07:19 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 1002 Source: Dhcp
The IP address lease 76.106.145.220 for the Network Card with network address 0016175F7FC2 has been denied by the DHCP server 0.0.0.0 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 6:17:14 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 10005 Source: DCOM
DCOM got error "%1058" attempting to start the service MDM with arguments "" in order to run the server: {0C0A3666-30C9-11D0-8F20-00805F2CD064}

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 6:17:07 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 10005 Source: DCOM
DCOM got error "%1058" attempting to start the service MDM with arguments "" in order to run the server: {0C0A3666-30C9-11D0-8F20-00805F2CD064}

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 4:36:29 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 1002 Source: Dhcp
The IP address lease 192.168.1.101 for the Network Card with network address 0016175F7FC2 has been denied by the DHCP server 68.87.74.13 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).

Log: 'System' Date/Time: 22/08/2009 4:27:34 PM
Type: error Category: 0
Event: 10005 Source: DCOM
DCOM got error "%1058" attempting to start the service MDM with arguments "" in order to run the server: {0C0A3666-30C9-11D0-8F20-00805F2CD064}

Edited by daathvader, 24 August 2009 - 05:37 PM.

  • 0

#9
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here and get SINO (System INvestigator by Olrik)...
click on SINO.exe...put ticks in...
ipconfig...
ping...
Netstat...
Hosts file...
also make sure there is one in BBCode...
click runScan...copy and paste the results in your reply

run the scan when you are connected to the router however you plan on using the computer
  • 0

#10
The Skeptic

The Skeptic

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 4,075 posts
Did you set username and password to the router (the same that used when connecting the modem to the computer)? This is done by first typing the router's IP in the adress bar. Each manufacturer has it's on IP.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
daathvader

daathvader

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
to happyrock, when i try to click the link it comes up saying invalid numbers 0-9 only and it doesnt give me an option to download anything. to the skeptic, i dont have a user name or pass on my router anymore, i restored everything to default so its admin admin
  • 0

#12
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
try getting SINO thru this link...here
I fixed the original link in the post with the instructions...
  • 0

#13
The Skeptic

The Skeptic

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 4,075 posts
You should set your reset your user name and password in the router. That can be the entire problem.
  • 0

#14
daathvader

daathvader

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
the skeptic-i did complete factory reset twice on the router. so everything should be back to default, are you saying i should reset then make a new user name and pass?
  • 0

#15
The Skeptic

The Skeptic

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 4,075 posts
Yes. Presently the router is between your modem and your computer which contains the account details. If you connect your router as a switch, meaning the cable that comes from the modem to the router and the cable that goes from the router to the computer, to two of the ordinary sockets (not to the WAN socket. To two of the others) your router will work but you will miss all the routing options. To enable the router properly you must set user account and password in the router.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP