Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Local Connection Unplugged (jack problem)

• Please log in to reply

shawn1804

shawn1804

• Pip
  • 3 posts
hello everyone, this is my first time in the forums so take it easy on me :)

Well, I have a hp pavilion a305w. Everything works fine on it, except sometimes I get that "local connection unplugged: A network cable is unplugged" dialog, along with that connection symbol with an X. This happens randomly, and it disconnects whenever it feels like it I guess.

The cable IS plugged in, and it is in the right spot. I think the problem is that my jack (or port?) is loose inside the computer. Sometimes I have to rig it and put like a pencil in between the wires to hold it in a steady place. I forgot to mention, I have changed the ethernet cable multiple times, so it isn't that

So my question is, is it possible to tighten that jack in the computer? Or maybe even get a new one? I'm not tech savvy at all, but I was just wondering if this is a real thing and if I could take it to a shop to get it fixed.

Or is there anyway I can somehow disable using this cord and still get connection? This doesn't effect my xbox360 internet connection or my Wii.

Thanks guys!

Edited by shawn1804, 15 August 2009 - 08:07 PM.

Advertisements

Major Payne

Major Payne

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 5,307 posts