Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Phillips DVD + RW SDVD 8820 problem on inspiron e1505

• Please log in to reply

michael420

michael420

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I am hoping you all can give me a hand or at least tell me if I need to plan on buying new components. I am new to this, so forgive me if I may need some prompting. I have a Inspiron e1505 from Dell and have never had any problems with it. Recently (read about 1-2 weeks) I found that my CD/DVD drive didn't seem to be working. The Media canter wold not recognize any disk that I placed into it. When I went into the device manager, I found that I had the device listed in the topic. I have tried the troubleshooting suggestions and have come up with error 39 (I think) which is telling me the driver is missing or corrupted. I tried searching for updated drivers (and Windows is telling me there are no drivers more current), and tried uninstalling and reinstalling the device (which tells me there was a problem reinstalling and puts me back at square one). I even went back and tried to reinstall with the original driver disk that came with the computer (not hoping for much since the disk drive is the problem). I have had ne luck and am looking for any other suggestions.

Michael

Advertisements

Broni

Broni

Kraków my love :)

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,300 posts
One of these may help:
1. Uninstall the drive through Device Manager.
Restart computer. The drive will be automatically reinstalled.
or...
2. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060
Restart computer.
or...