Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

zone alarm - basic query

• Please log in to reply

KatieStar

KatieStar

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
Hi,

I'm really new to looking after my laptop and so apologise if this is a really basic question but...

1) How do I know which zone alarm pop ups to allow or deny?

A friend, who put the programme on my laptop for me, said "deny things unless [I] know what they are" but recently on a few occassions I think that has meant that important things haven't downloaded eg upgrades for my vodafone internet dongle provision. Once I have clicked deny it seems that I cannot get the programmes to then download no matter how many times I click retry.

Any help/info for me?

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
1) As in so many other aspects of modern life, if in doubt, say no.
Somewhere in this program there is the ability (I forget where) to allow programs that you've previously denied and to deny programs you've previously allowed.

KatieStar

KatieStar

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
But I seem to then not be able to get simple upgrades!!

Cold Titanium

Cold Titanium

Trusted Helper

• Malware Removal
  • 1,735 posts
In the bottom right corner of your screen, in the bar you should see a small Z.

Right-Click it, then click "Restore ZoneAlarm Control Center"

On the left side click "Program Control" and under that click "Programs"