Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Auto refreshed web pages hibernate XP laptop

• Please log in to reply

Neal Giovanni

Neal Giovanni

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello I am Neal Giovanni. I am new to that site so if this is posted in the wrong location or a similar problem has been posted please forgive me.

My problem is this, I am maintaining a website for a ministry which has recently moved their website. They had me put up a redirection page at the old website. I went to test it out and whenever the page goes to redirect, XP goes into hibernation. I have tried several different ways of redirecting including PHP, JavaScript and Meta tags all with the same result. When the delay time, that lets a visitor read that the site has moved, has run out XP hibernates. I have never read of that problem anywhere before and have no idea how to fix it. I have run several anti-virus and anti-malware programs and the system repeatedly comes up clean.

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Advertisements

Sometimes needs help

Sometimes needs help

• Banned
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
Hello Neal Giovanni and welcome to Geeks to Go!

Malware scans are not a solution I am guessing.
Here are a few questions:

1.) Have you tried the redirection on a different PC? If so, are the results the same?
2.) Do you currently have hibernate enabled? Check this by going to Start>Shut Down>See if you can click hibernate.

Please post with your results.

-Sometimes Needs Help

Neal Giovanni

Neal Giovanni

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 3 posts