Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

[SOLVED] PCI M-Audio Soundcard Suddenly Stopped Working

• Please log in to reply

adifrank

adifrank

• PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
I make music with my computer and therefore the onboard sound card that came with my motherboard is disabled and I've installed a dedicated sound card instead. The soundcard I work with is an M-Audio Delta Series 2496 Audiophile PCI card. I've been using this card without problems for about 5 years.

Today the card seems to have stopped working and I suspect it has something to do with recent stuff I've been doing with my computer.

Here is stuff I did prior to my soundcard's failure to work. I have no idea which if any of these things are related to the problem or not. I also have know idea at what stage the sound stopped working.

YESTERDAY:
- a friend came with an mp3 player (Creative ZEN Jukebox). He had some data on it (using it as a kind of external hard drive) which he wanted to transfer to my computer.

- I downloaded/installed the latest driver and plugged it (via USB) to my computer. The computer recognized the device, but for some odd reason it did not show all the data. We tried several things including re-downloading and re-installing the driver and installing a media player app by Creative but nothing worked. I uninstalled the driver and the Creative app.

(at this stage I remember my audio was fine, because I listened to some music. This was the last time I attempted to use audio before first noticing the problem)

TODAY