Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

chkdsk won't run


  • Please log in to reply

#46
Joeyp

Joeyp

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
Somebody told me to do this,what would this do to my PC?

At the Recovery Console command prompt, type the following lines, pressing ENTER after you type each line:
md tmp
copy c:windowssystem32configsystem c:windowstmpsystem.bak
copy c:windowssystem32configsoftware c:windowstmpsoftware.bak
copy c:windowssystem32configsam c:windowstmpsam.bak
copy c:windowssystem32configsecurity c:windowstmpsecurity.bak
copy c:windowssystem32configdefault c:windowstmpdefault.bak

delete c:windowssystem32configsystem
delete c:windowssystem32configsoftware
delete c:windowssystem32configsam
delete c:windowssystem32configsecurity
delete c:windowssystem32configdefault

copy c:windowsrepairsystem c:windowssystem32configsystem
copy c:windowsrepairsoftware c:windowssystem32configsoftware
copy c:windowsrepairsam c:windowssystem32configsam
copy c:windowsrepairsecurity c:windowssystem32configsecurity
copy c:windowsrepairdefault c:windowssystem32configdefault

Type exit to quit Recovery Console. Your computer will restart


And I was told to do this:

run, then type “CMD”. Now type “sfc /scannow”

Edited by Joeyp, 29 December 2009 - 10:42 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#47
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
A couple things.
Tuneup utilities is not creating the problem (at least I do not believe so).
I do not know what running those commands would do.

You can run sfc /scannow from a command prompt.
If it finds files to replace, it will ask for the XP oem cd (which you do not have).
If it finds no files to replace, it will run and then quite.

We need to check the drive for problems using the manufacturers diagnostics.
Do you know the drive manufacturer?
Device manager should give us an idea.
Go to start....Go to run...Type in devmgmt.msc and click ok
Expand out disk drives.

With that info go to http://www.tacktech....ay.cfm?ttid=287 and get the diagnostic program for the drive.
Create the iso file and boot to the CD and run the diagnostics.
  • 0

#48
Joeyp

Joeyp

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
I have 2 hard drives listed ,because I have a slave drive installed.I only found numbers,so I googled them and this is what I found.

first drive listed-Hitachi Deskstar HDS722512VLAT20

second drive listed-Seagate Barracuda ST3120022A

I'm assuming the first drive listed is my primary drive,so I will look that one up,if that's correct?

BTW,the chkdsk has stopped finding errors.

Edited by Joeyp, 30 December 2009 - 12:54 PM.

  • 0

#49
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
The 1st drive is a hitachi and is most likely the primary.
Get the drive fitness test from the link.
It will download as a iso file.

If you don't have a burning program that will burn .ISO files get burncdcc from my signature below ..a small FAST no frills iso burning program...

NOTE...do not put a blank cd in until burncdcc opens the tray for you
1. Start BurnCDCC
2. Browse to the ISO file you want to burn on cd/dvd ....
3. Select the ISO file
4. click on Start

EDIT : Removed puppy linux instructions.

Edited by 123Runner, 30 December 2009 - 01:33 PM.

  • 0

#50
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
123Runner check your instructions. You have Puppy instructions mixed in there. :)
  • 0

#51
Joeyp

Joeyp

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
I burned the .iso file with imgburn,but I'll have to run the diagnostic later,because I have to watch my grandson,but I'll get to it as soon as possible,thanks guys.
  • 0

#52
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No problem we will be here. Enjoy the grandson. They grow up to fast.
  • 0

#53
Joeyp

Joeyp

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts

No problem we will be here. Enjoy the grandson. They grow up to fast.

Thanks. I was just able to run the diagnostic scan,and it said it completed successfully and it didn't show any problems guys.According to the diagnostic list,the seagate was the primary,but I ran the Hitachi test anyway,and it seemed to scan both drives anyway.The Seagate diagnostic tool says it will scan any drive,and I guess the Hitachi did too,or am I wrong.

Edited by Joeyp, 30 December 2009 - 04:36 PM.

  • 0

#54
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Nope if they scanned and found no problems then we are good there. Great job so far :) :)
Let's see what 123Runner thinks the next step should be.
  • 0

#55
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Ok, here we go. I had to re-look at the post to see what we did and what the issues were.

To Rshaffer61...at least this is not as bad as our other topic we worked on? Simplee55? Remember?

The problem was not being able to defrag and then chkdsk running all the time.

The question is...How is the computer running?
Can you do a defrag? Try Auslogics defrag from my signature.

Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

http://auslogics.com...defrag/download

I would also do a file cleanup.
Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
If you use Firefox browserClick Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
If you use Opera browserClick Opera at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.
For Technical Support, double-click the e-mail address located at the bottom of each menu.
[/list]
123runner
  • 0

Advertisements


#56
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

To Rshaffer61...at least this is not as bad as our other topic we worked on?

Yep, and if defrag is not working then I would suggest Auslogics anyway.
My son's system won't run Windows defrag but Auslogics works with no problem. Sometimes it is a windows problem that can't be fixed short of a format and fresh install which I believe is not a option.
  • 0

#57
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
sorry...I have been real busy...
if I read the thread correctly you have tested the drive and it passed...also ran chechdsk /r and it did not find or fix any errors...
the only thing left to fix was can you defrag the drive...if not, how much free space do you have on the drive in question...defragging require 15% free space to work...
  • 0

#58
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Happyrock...

chkdsk had to be run multiple times before the drive came back clean.
Also, you are correct in that the drive passed diagnostics.

The op needs to try defrag and also be sure that chkdsk is not running at every startup as it was when you first got involved.

123runner
  • 0

#59
Joeyp

Joeyp

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
Thanks guys for all your replies. I already use the ATF Cleaner and the Auslogics defrag software,and I have already ran them. I also can do a windows defrag and my PC is running great.I wish I knew what started all this and what program prevents the chkdsk from running except in the recovery console,but I can live with that.The chkdsk is no longer trying to run at startup after I followed the commands to make it stop.All in all my pc is running much better than before,and I thank you all for your help.
  • 0

#60
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Thank you for letting us know and please don't hesitate if you have any other questions.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP