Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

PC only turns on in Safe Mode


  • Please log in to reply

#91
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
NO because the installed programs will not be installed in the registry as they were before. This is where things get hard because of the fact that the original OS being deleted once you erase the windows folder then the programs will most likely have to be reinstalled.
The data is what is important to save.
That would be located in the my documents folder under your original user name.
  • 0

Advertisements


#92
Master Spade

Master Spade

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

NO because the installed programs will not be installed in the registry as they were before. This is where things get hard because of the fact that the original OS being deleted once you erase the windows folder then the programs will most likely have to be reinstalled.
The data is what is important to save.
That would be located in the my documents folder under your original user name.


So should I just leave the WINDOWS folder that is backed up alone?

What will happen if I try to copy everything, including that Corrupt WINDOWS folder, onto the 500GB HD? Will the Windows XP that is now installed onto that HD be in conflict with that WINDOWS folder that I'd be adding, or will it possibly "Fix" and overwrite anything that was wrong with it or even add whatever might of been missing?

I'm guessing that it will inform me that some of those files are already on the Current HD, and if I want to overwrite them.
  • 0

#93
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The new windows will be replaced with the corrupted one.
  • 0

#94
Master Spade

Master Spade

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

The new windows will be replaced with the corrupted one.


If that happens, I'm going to be back at square one.


Anything I can do?
  • 0

#95
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You have anew installation on the 500 now.
Copy the My Documents folder with all the users in it. This will get your data back.
You will have to reinstall the programs themselves.
Once that is done check to make sure all data is on the 500 and safe. If not then you will have to move it manually like i stated previously with the two windows open side by side.
Do not format the 1tb or erase anything till you have everything safe.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP