Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Compatibility inquiry


  • Please log in to reply

#61
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
Huh.. red lights on mobo went away but other than that, no changes.
  • 0

Advertisements


#62
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
A shorting out problem. It is a common mistake made by builders. They get a standoff in the wrong place under the motherboard which causes a short between the motherboard and the case.
It is easy to fix by just removing the motherboard and checking the placement of the standoffs under it to make sure there only standoffs where they line up with a hole in the motherboard where it can be connected with a screw. If there is one that is not lined up then remove it.

Edited by rshaffer61, 15 January 2010 - 08:25 AM.

  • 0

#63
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
Huh alright I'll check that, good idea, I was gonna take it all apart and do a tedious bench build but i'll try that first. The only standoffs (gold things, right?) I used were the six that were pre-inserted into the case, though, and I remember putting screws into each one. Worth a shot though.
  • 0

#64
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Bench testing would be a great ideal. That would take the motherboard out of the case completely and there would be no possibility of a short then.
  • 0

#65
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
I'm making this post on the computer ^^
  • 0

#66
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
Oooooooohhhhhh right

I forgot I was having a problem before I ever disassembled it in the first place. in september >_>

The screen will black out while I'm in the middle of something. Completely randomly.

Nooooooo idea why. Can't shut off with power button, have to cut off power from the PSU to power down.

Edited by Vimpoco2010, 17 January 2010 - 04:26 PM.

  • 0

#67
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Screen black out try different monitor.
Different monitor same problem video on motherboard.
Power should be able to shut off with power button. If not then you may have a faulty power switch on case or motherboard may be failing.
  • 0

#68
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
It couldn't be the monitor because of the power not turning off issue :/
  • 0

#69
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
Oh right and I remember the strangest thing

When I used to play a game that was 100% fullscreen the blackout wouldn't happen. Even if it was for like 6 hours at a time.

But if I'm not playing a game it'll take like 30 minutes on average
  • 0

#70
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It's worth a try at this point. A different monitor would determine if it is a monitor or a system problem.
If system problem then I'm afraid a motherboard video chipset may be the issue.
  • 0

Advertisements


#71
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
Oh by the way I left out one important detail: the computer wont boot AT ALL if the CD-ROM IDE cable is plugged in.

And it works fine with another monitor (right now the CD-rom is working fine with the power, it comes out and everything. just doesn't read CD's. IDE cable is unplugged right now as im typing this)

Edited by Vimpoco2010, 17 January 2010 - 05:19 PM.

  • 0

#72
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
I should also add that I didn't have this problem until I replaced my XP/7 hybrid OS with Vista 64 bit(original OS on the system and what im running right now)
  • 0

#73
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

XP/7 hybrid OS

:) What do you mean by hybrid?
  • 0

#74
Vimpoco2010

Vimpoco2010

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
A long while ago I torrented an OS that was some sorta hybrid. I don't remember anything about it anything other than that I wanted to reformat and Vista was the only hard disc I had
  • 0

#75
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Did you format before you installed the Vista?
That includes blowing away all partitions and starting with a native drive?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP