Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

application will not initialize


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts


I recently installed a program RegGenie and did a systems scan and repair. It called for a system restart which I did. Since then 2 things have happened -

1. on start-up I get an error message "Restart Required to complete changes."
2. my Systems Mrchanic program will not initialize.

The technecial support of both products have not come up with a solution. I have uninstalled both products and reinstalled both - no changes.

I have uninstalled RegGenie and not reinstalled. Both problems still exist.

I have also run virus scans - no viruses

Any suggestions?
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
A registry cleaner will not increase your system's speed or performance, and has the potential to break your registry to the point that your PC is no longer bootable.
We strongly advise that people stay away from any of the registry cleaners out there.
Go HERE to get more information about why registry cleaners aren't needed.


Thanks to Sari for the explanation


Reboot and go to Advance Boot Menu by tapping F8 at the second black post screen.
Using the keyboard arrows go down to the line that says Last Known Good Configuration
Highlight and click enter.
Does it fix the problem?
  • 0

#3
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Thanks Sari - the application still does not initalize.
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Try this.

Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions



Revised and Simplified:


Do you have a valid XP CD?

If so, place it in your CD ROM drive and follow the instructions below:
  • Click on Start and select Run... type sfc /scannow (note the space) (Let this run undisturbed until the window with the blue progress bar goes away)

SFC
- Which stands for System File Checker,
retrieves the correct version of the file from %Systemroot%\System32\Dllcache or the Windows installation source files, and then replaces the incorrect file.
If you want to see what was replaced, right-click My Computer and click on Manage. In the new window that appears, expand the Event Viewer (by clicking on the + symbol next to it) and then click on System.
  • 0

#5
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
I hope you guys do not get 'fed-up' with me, but I have done what you have suggested and also reinstalled Systems Mechanic but still it will not initialize and the "restart' error message still appears at start-up.

Anymore suggestions?

Thanks
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
What are you using system mechanic for specifically?
  • 0

#7
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Systems Mechanic does checks on security, short cut links, registration problems, an item it calls "system clutter" and general computer condition. I have used it for over 2 years and have never had a problem and our computers always seem to run better after it has done a scan.
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK then lets see if we can completely get rid of it and do a fresh install. Please do the following and then let me know if the problem is gone before reinstalling. If not we have to look else where before reinstalling the program. Install Revo Uninstaller and locate any mention of the above File and System Mechanic and then check them.
Download and install Revo Uninstaller
  • Double click the Revo Uninstaller icon on your desktop to start the program
  • Scroll through the listed programs and Right Click on the program you wish to uninstall
  • From the pop out menu choose Uninstall
  • Click Yes to the confirmation dialogue
  • In the next window select the Advanced mode
  • Click Next to start uninstalling the program
  • Answer Yes to confirm the uninstall
  • When the program has completed the four steps, click Next to allow the program to search for leftovers
  • Once complete, click Next, then Finish
  • Repeat the above steps for any other programs you wish to remove.


http://www.revouninstaller.com/
  • 0

#9
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hi - I have run the program as you described and restarted the computer.

The 'restart' message still appears, but it is a leftover from the 'RegGenie' program that I uninstalled and I guess the application to show the message is hidden somewhere.
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Did you use Revo to get rid of the RegGenie?
If not try it and let me know if it gets rid of the message
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hi - I did not have Revo and used the 'Add/Delete' of Windows. I have used Revo to try to find something left over of RegGenie but am not familiar with Revo and therefore may not have the 'smarts' to use it properly for searching.
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Post 8 shows the steps.
  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If no joy then do the following to see if it is still loaded in your startups.

Lets see what you have in your startup

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything that is related to RegGenie and restart.
IMPORTANT! In case of laptop, make sure, you do NOT disable any keyboard, or touchpad entries.
Any luck this way?
  • 0

#14
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hi again - in 'msconfig' I changed from 'normal startup' to'selective startup'. There was nothing in my startup menu relating to RegGenie so that is why I changed to selective - then I unchecked 'load startup items' and left everything else checked.

The 'restart' message did not appear at startup - but I do not know how other things were affected except there are fewer icons in the bar at the bottom of the screen.
  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Change back to normal startup and we will look a different way.

Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP