Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Computer Running Slowly


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Traixen

Traixen

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
Hello,

For the past few days, my computer is running very very slowly. Anytime I try to open an .exe file, it either: does not load or show up in the task manager, loads partially then crashes, or loads after 3-5 minutes and moves very slowly. At first, I thought it was just an issue with my firefox, and I have struggled with uninstall/reinstall to finally get it opening now (though still slowly).

My Bitdefender and my PC Tools Spyware Doctor are not showing any new viruses/spyware that would bog the system, so I'm not sure if that's the issue.

Specs:
Microsoft XP Media Center Addition
Version 2002
SP 3

Dell Dimension DXP061
Intel Core 2 CPU
1.86 GHz, 3.o GB RAM

Thank you for any help you could offer.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download BlueScreenView
No installation required.
Double click on BlueScreenView.exe file to run the program.
When scanning is done, go Edit>Select All.
Go File>Save Selected Items, and save the report as BSOD.txt.
Open BSOD.txt in Notepad, copy all content, and paste it into your next reply.

Thanks to Broni for the instructions and program


Download WhoCrashed from the link in my signature below
This program checks for any drivers which may have been causing your computer to crash....

Click on the file you just downloaded and run it.
Put a tick in Accept then click on Next
Put a tick in the Don't create a start menu folder then click Next
Put a tick in Create a Desktop Icon then click on Install and make sure there is a tick in Launch Whocrashed before clicking Finish
Click Analyze
It will want to download the Debugger and install it Say Yes
WhoCrashed will create report but you have to scroll down to see it
Copy and paste it into your next reply


Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.


Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...

DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"
  • 0

#3
Traixen

Traixen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
Thank you for responding. Here is everything you asked for, I hope it helps.

BlueScreenView:

Found 0 crashes



WhoCrashed:

Analysis
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash dump directory: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump

Crash dumps are enabled on your computer.


No valid crash dumps have been found on your computer


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusion
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash dumps are enabled and no valid crash dumps have been found on your computer. In case your computer does experience sudden reboots it is likely these are caused by malfunctioning hardware, power failure or a thermal issue. To troubleshoot a thermal issue, check the temperature using your BIOS setup program, check for dust in CPU and motherboard fans and if your computer is portable make sure it's located on a hard surface. Otherwise it's suggested you contact the support department of the manufacturer of your system or test your system with a memory test utility for further investigation.

Attached Thumbnails

  • PS_Sensor.JPG

Attached Files


  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

"dellsupportcenter"
"DMXLauncher"
"iTunesHelper"
"NvCplDaemon"
"TkBellExe"
"YSearchProtection"
"Xfire.lnk"


The next file needs to be manually disabled and is only needed if you use multi language on your keyboard. If you do then skip the step.


To turn off just ctfmon.exe go to:

Control Panel then to Regional and Language Options

Click on the Languages Tab then click the Details button

Click on the Advanced tab

Check the box that says Turn off advanced text services option

Click A and then OK



When done restart computer and then:



Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

  • 0

#5
Traixen

Traixen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
I cannot get the Auslogics website to load. I keep getting connection timeout.
I'm going to try a standard defrag on the system to see if that works. So far, not much has changed on the speed. It took nearly 30 minutes for my web browser to open, and the programs keep being sticky (bouncing between not responding and responding) Could this potentially be a worm my bitdefender isn't seeing?

Attached Thumbnails

  • cto.JPG

  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It could be but there are other reason that it could be happening.
Do you use broadband internet?
Are you connected to a router or a modem?
Have you tried disconnecting from it and plugging directly into your internet?
Hw about disconnecting from the modem or router and then disconnecting power from it for 10 minutes.
Then reconnecting everything back up and seeing if your speed comes back on and connection issue is resolve?
  • 0

#7
Traixen

Traixen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
I use DSL connected to a router on a wireless connection. That could be the issue with the connection down for the site, I'll try hard lining into the web to see if I can't get that download set. As for it affecting the other programs, it doesn't seem to make a difference (already tried that). Even my offline programs are not loading correctly and flipping from not responding to responding.
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Auslogics Parent Site
Auslogics Cnet Download
Auslogics Major Geeks

See if any of these will allow you to download the program. Did the autorun step and TFC steps finish?
  • 0

#9
Traixen

Traixen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
Yes. I did both of them. The autorun drastically reduced how long it took for my computer to start up. So thank you! Especially that xfire.. I could not find a way to turn it off for start up ^^.

The I'm downloading auslogics through cnet. Thank you for the mirror.
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Great glad to hear both results. I'm hoping Auslogics will speed things up alot for you.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Traixen

Traixen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
Okay, the defrag finished:
Disk Size 461.06 GB
Free Space Size 346.88 GB
Clusters 120865027
Sectors per cluster 8
Bytes per sector 512
Started defragmentation at 1/13/2010 5:27:38 PM
Completed defragmentation at 1/13/2010 6:23:15 PM
Elapsed time 00:55:36
Total Files 356963
Total Directories 30050
Fragmented Files 14336
Defragmented Files 14336
Skipped Files 0
Fragmentation Before 5.82% |||
Fragmentation After 0.00%

Things are moving decidedly smoother, but it is still taking 3-5 minutes for a program to open and about a minute to close (Non-internet programs). Is there anything else I can do? Or is it time to start looking into there being worms in the system?
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I would say let's try this.

ok I need you to do the following and let me know what it says

Click the Start and then Right click My Computer
Select Manage and In the Computer Management window, select Device Manager
In the right pane, click to expand IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
The click on the + sign next to your CD/DVD drive controller which will most likely be the Secondary Controller
Right click on the drive and select Properties
Click the Advanced Settings tab
In the Transfer Mode box that represents your CD/DVD drive (typically Device 1); open the dropdown menu and select PIO Only
Click OK and exit all windows
Reboot to make sure all settings take affect and then try your cdrom drive. Reply back with your results






For HD only



Let's make sure all drives are using DMA mode

Click the Start and then Right click My Computer
Select Manage and In the Computer Management window, select Device Manager
In the right pane, click to expand IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
The click on the + sign next to your Hard drive controllers on both the Primary Controller and Secondary Controller
Right click on the drive and select Properties
Click the Advanced Settings tab
In the Transfer Mode box open the drop down menu and select DMA if available
Redo the steps to check each of the Controllers
Click OK and exit all windows
Reboot to make sure all settings take affect. Reply back with your results
  • 0

#13
Traixen

Traixen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
I cannot find the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers when I open my device manager. And there is no advanced tab under my CD/DVD rom drive that I can see in any of the tabs.

Attached Thumbnails

  • CM.JPG
  • CM2.JPG

  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Try Disk Drives for the IDE steps
  • 0

#15
Traixen

Traixen

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
I'm not seeing anything for that driver in any of the drop down tabs. All I see under the properties is troubleshoot, details, update, rollback and uninstall. Is there another way to that location? These are all the driver tabs dropped down if you want to see the contents of the main folders.

Attached Thumbnails

  • CM3.JPG
  • CM4.JPG
  • CM5.JPG

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP