Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Looking at building a barebone kit, is this alright?

• Please log in to reply

conroy66

conroy66

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hello,
I'm looking to build a new barebones kit and I am a complete amateur. I was hoping to get my foot in the door by building a kit and eventually upgrading/building from there and gaining knowledge and experience along the way. What I'm wondering is if this kit is any good for an amateur:

http://www.tigerdire...mp;sku=B69-1141

The specs and prices in CAD are below:

Intel DP55WB Motherboard - Qty: 1 $119.97

Intel Core i5 750 Processor - Qty: 1 $213.97

OCZ PC3-10666 Platinum RAM - Qty: 1 $112.97

Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS Hard Drive - Qty: 1 $94.97

XFX Radeon HD 4670 1GB PCIe 2.0 Video Card - Qty: 1 $74.97

Ultra X-Blaster ATX Blk Mid-T Case - Qty: 1 $59.97

Ultra LSP650 650-Watt Power Supply - Qty: 1 $69.97

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64BIT - OEM DVD - Qty: 1 $114.97

LG GH22NS50 DVD Writer OEM - Qty: 1 $36.00

Ultra Retractable Cord RJ-11 Modem Cable - Qty: 1 $.49