Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Firmware leading to bsod? Need help


  • Please log in to reply

#1
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
Hey everyone, I recently upgraded to iPod touch to firmware 3.1.3 but I wasn't a fan, so I decided to downgrade to 3.1.2. I installed the firmware on my computer, and at the same time I had just a normal windows xp update running. I tried to downgrade my firmware, but i didn't have much luck, so I decided to restart my computer, as that can be a way to make the firmware install work. I hit restart, it shut down like normal, and booted up with a bsod. I tried every option, including safemode, recovery mode, and the mode that has the last used best settings, but to no avail. I really doant want to lose my 1700 songs in my iTunes library among otherthings, which is why I can't just reformat my harddrive. If I can even just get my music off somehow, thAt would be a great help, I do also have a second harddrive if needed and have some tech experience, so if anyone has any ideas that would be lovely!
Thanks,
Jason

Edited by ipoder2, 10 February 2010 - 11:57 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
Does anybody have ANY suggestions? If someone would tell me how to at least just get my music of my computer, that would be a great help.
  • 0

#3
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Sorry but we are very busy and there is no problem getting the files you want if need be.

We need to see the BSOD technical information. Please do the following:
  • Start your system and at the Second post screen tap on F8 to get to the Boot Menu
  • Use the Arrow Keys to Scroll down to the line that says "Auto Start On Error" and highlight it.
  • Click Enter to disable it
  • The system should reboot and if not then do so.
  • When the BSOD shows it will stop so that you can reply with the STOP ERROR and any parameters.

  • 0

#4
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
At the bottom it says ***stop: 0x00000050 (0x80097004, 0x00000001, 0x80515103, 0x00000000)

I also have the windows xp installation disk if that is of any help
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well before we get to the installation disk lets try a system restore using Recovery Console.

If you have Windows XP CD...

1. Boot from the CD.
2. When the text-based part of Setup begins, follow the prompts. Select the repair or recover option by pressing R:

Posted Image

3. You'll find yourself at this screen:

Posted Image

4. Once you are at the Recovery Console you will be given at least one choice of Windows installations. Normally the choice you want is the number 1 choice. Click the number 1 key at the "top" of the keyboard and click enter.

NOTE: at this point your numbers to the right of your keyboard are turned off. If you insist on using these keys for your numbers remember to hit the Numbers Lock key before clicking a number over there or your computer will automatically reboot and you will have to wait through the previous steps to get back to the console.

5. You will be given a message asking for the administrator password. Unless someone or something has messed with your computer there is no password so you just click the Enter key.

6. This will bring you to a prompt that says:

C:\WINDOWS>

7. Type:

cd \

Press Enter

Note: between "cd" and "" there should be a "blank space" otherwise the command won't work

8. The prompt should now say:

C:\>

9. Type:

cd system~1\_resto~1

Press Enter.

Note: If it gives an error "Access Denied" while accessing the folder, follow the method below

Type: cd \

Press Enter

Type: cd windows\system32\config

Press Enter

Type: ren system system.bak

Press Enter

(note the spaces between ren and system, and then between system and system.bak)

Type: exit

Press Enter

now the computer should restart, then follow steps 1-6


10. Type:

dir

Press Enter

NOTE: When you hit enter it will list all the restore points folders like "rp1", "rp2" we have to see the last restore point to copy the file from a recent backup. If the restore points have more than one page then you have keep on hitting the key to view the last restore point folder.

NOTE: It is a good rule of thumb to choose the files from the restore point folder which the second to the last one.

11. Type:

cd rp{with the second to the last restore point number }

Press Enter

Example: cd rp9. if rp10 is the last restore point

12. Type:

cd snapshot

Press Enter.

NOTICE: Now the command prompt will look like this:

c:\system~1\resto~1\rp9\snapshot

Note : restore point 9 assumed for clarity of the content.


13. Type:

copy _registry_machine_system c:\windows\system32\config\system

Press Enter

14. Type:

Exit

Press Enter.

Final note : If the above procedure won't solve the problem, repeat all steps, but in step 13 type:

copy _registry_machine_software c:\windows\system32\config\software

Alternatively, select different restore point.



If you don't have Windows CD...

Download Windows Recovery Console: http://www.thecomput...om/files/rc.iso
Download, and install free Imgburn: http://www.imgburn.c...hp?act=download
Using Imgburn, burn rc.iso to a CD.
Boot to the CD...let it finish loading.
When the "Welcome to Setup" screen appears, press R to start the Recovery Console.

Follow steps 3 - 14.

Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#6
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
I did all of those steps, and they all seem to work fine, except after I typed exit, I get the screen where it asks how I want to start it
safe mode
safe mode with networking
safe mode with command prompt
last know good configuration
start windows normally
When I start normally, my computer restarts.
What should I do?
  • 0

#7
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
I hit safe mode, and it says "windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM
you can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows Setup using the original setup cd-rom
select 'r' at the first screen to start repair"
What should I do?
  • 0

#8
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
Sorry for the extra posts, but I tried to just run that whole thing again, but when I type copy _registry_machine_system c:\windows\system32\config\system or copy _registry_machine_software c:\windows\system32\config\software it says that the command is not recognized

Edited by ipoder2, 10 February 2010 - 01:49 PM.

  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK then it looks like we need to do what is called a Repair Installation.
This normally will keep your data intact but like anything with software there is always a chance of a problem. Being that said below i am going to give you instructions for creating a Linux Live CD that will allow you to access your Hard drive and backup all your music files. Being you have 1700 files this will probably take awhile and when done please let me know and then I will reply with the repair instructions.

Get Puppy Linux from my signature below...Get puppy-2.16-seamonkey-fulldrivers.iso download it and burn it to cd
..
if you don't have a burning program that will burn .ISO files get Burncdcc from my signature...it is a small FAST no frills iso burning program...

NOTE...do not put a blank cd in until burncdcc opens the tray for you
1. Start BurnCDCC
2. Browse to the ISO file you want to burn on cd/dvd ....in this case its puppy-2.16-seamonkey-fulldrivers.iso
3. Select the ISO file
4. click on Start

make sure in the bios the cd drive is the first boot device....

put the cd in the cd drive..boot your computer....puppy will boot and run totally in ram...if your hardware is is good working order you will know...
after you get it running and your at the desktop...you take the puppy linux cd out and then you can use the burner to copy all your data to cd/dvds
you can also use it to backup your data to a external usb harddrive..just have it hooked to the computer when you boot up with puppy...

==========================
quick guide for saving data...music..files on a system that will not boot using puppy Linux..


after you get to puppy desktop..
click on the drives icon...looks like a flash drive...top row..it will list all the drives connected to

your computer...

click on the red icon for the drive you want to mount...in this case its a flash drive ...puppy will

mount the drive..the drive icon turns green when its mounted...
minimize the drives mounter window..you will need it again in a few minutes..
drag the right edge of it sideways to shrink it to its narrowest size...about half the width of the screen...then drag the window to the right edge of the screen...

now click on the icon that looks like a filing cabinet (kind of yellow) on the main drive...it should
already be green..
you will see a list of all the folders on the main drive Usually your C: drive..shrink that window to
the narrowest you can..about half the width of the screen...drag that window to the left side of the screen...
at this point you should have 2 windows open on your desktop..the flash drive on the right side..
go back to the folders on the C: drive...click on the documents and settings folder...then your user
name or all users..find the folders that has your data..
drag and drop the folder with the data you want to make copies of to the flash drive window...

your options are to move ..copy ect...JUST COPY..if its to big you will have to open the folder and
drag and drop individual files until the flash drive is full...(I have a 120 GB external USB drive for
big data recovery jobs and a 4 GB flash drive for the smaller jobs)..after you get the files copied to
the flash drive...
Click on the drives mounter you minimized earlier
UNMOUNT THE FLASH DRIVE by clicking on the green icon..you will once in awhile get error messages when
unmouting the drive..ignore them..when the flash drive icon turns red again its safe to remove the
flash drive..trot on over (stroll if you want to look cool) to another computer and plug in the flash

drive and copy all the data files ( I drag and drop) to the other computer..
make sure the other computer can read them...

now delete the data on the flash drive...take it back to the misbehaving computer and plug it in

again..click on the drives icon again and repeat until you have all your data transferred to the working
system..

Thanks to happyrock
  • 0

#10
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
Ok, I put puppy linux on the cd, and put it in my bad computer, and when I boot it up, it pop ups saying it will boot in 5 seconds and all that, it goes to boot, than a bunch of unknown interupts and errors happen

Edited by ipoder2, 10 February 2010 - 03:03 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Strange did you change the boot sequence in bios to make the cdrom the first boot device?
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS
Reboot the system and at the first post screen (where it is counting up memory) start tapping the DEL button
This will enter you into the Bios\Cmos area.
Find the Advanced area and click Enter
Look for Boot Sequence or Boot Options and highlight that click Enter
Now highlight the first drive and follow the directions on the bottom of the screen on how to modify it and change it to CDrom.
Change the second drive to the C or Main Drive
Once that is done then click F10 to Save and Exit
You will prompted to enter Y to verify Save and Exit. Click Y and the system will now reboot with the new settings.

  • 0

#13
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
This isn't the first time that I've had to boot from a cd, so I believe that I had changed it last time. Could you give me a quick walk through on where to find out?
  • 0

#14
ipoder2

ipoder2

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
Nevermind, first was floppy, then cd-rom, I changed it, and I still got the errors

Edited by ipoder2, 10 February 2010 - 03:08 PM.

  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK did you click F10 to save and verify before exiting bios?
Did you use the ISO or Image making program to burn the cd or a different program?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP