Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Advice on various security software

• Please log in to reply

NWkee

NWkee

• PipPip
  • 32 posts
Hi all. I am new to Geeks to Go! and this is my first post. In the last 4 months my machine has been horribly infected twice with a virus and this second time I'm calling it good and replacing the machine instead of putting any more money into a 7 year old machine. My user profile has been lost and I can't log onto the machine. Unfortunately there are some files I'd like to retrieve. Any advice anyone has in this area is appreciated.

My real question though is that I'd like some advice on security software. I was running AVG, Malewarebytes and A-squared on my old machine. I see from your free antivirus thread that AVG is not one of your favorites. I've recently received the recommendation of an AV program called "Avira". Any opinion on this program. Also I've been told the the AV software that's provided by my ISP is typically not very good. Do you agree with this? Finally, I've received the advice that running two AV programs is not a good idea (i.e. AVG and a-squared). That frustrated me because it was my local computer shop that set me up that way.

Last question, I've been running the firewall that is installed in Windows XP. What is your reaction to that.

Sorry for the long first post but as you may be able to tell, I am a bit frustrated with this situation.

Thanks

Advertisements

SpywareDr

SpywareDr

Member 3k

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,996 posts