Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows XP is unable to find a certificate to log you on to the networ

• Please log in to reply

mattnanokid

mattnanokid

• PipPip
  • 22 posts
[b][b]Hello, I'm new to Geeks to Go, and I'm not sure if this has been posted or not, but anyway,

When I try to connect my older, Windows XP computer to my home network via a linksys wireless USB adaptor, it says: "Windows is unable to find a certificate to log you on to the network." I have tried the solution where you go to the Authentication tab of your network settings, and uncheck the option IEEE 802.1x, but it does not work. If you know of any other solutions for this problem that would be great!http://www.geekstogo...lt/laughing.gif

Thanks,
Matt

Advertisements

phillipcorcoran

phillipcorcoran

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
Welcome to Geeks To Go!

If you're wireless router is set up to use WPA encryption, make sure you've set it to 'WPA-PSK' and not WPA-RADIUS

If that is not relevant to you (eg you don't use WPA encryption) then I have also read that installing SP3 has fixed the problem for many XP users.

Please be aware that to install Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3), either Windows XP Service Pack 1a (SP1a) or Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2) must already be installed.

Edited by phillipcorcoran, 17 February 2010 - 11:20 AM.

mattnanokid

mattnanokid

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
Okay, I installed SP3, and it worked! My internet works flawlessly, that is, for now.

miscreant

miscreant

• Pip
  • 4 posts