Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

Does This Sound 'Fishy' To You?

  • Please log in to reply




  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
I think this is the 'best' forum for my issue; if it is not, please place it in the proper forum. Thanks...

I found out about a site a few days ago called www.mymusicbrowser.com. Please go there to familiarize yourself with the service they are offering. They let me use their demo version for the last few days, but not now. Now I get a message saying for me to list my mobile phone number so they can send me a validation code by SMS text to confirm my account. They are based in Costa Rica. I feel a little uncomfortable giving a site my cell phone number so they can send me a text message to confirm my registration for their service. Am I being prudent or being too cautious? I just don't want to be the victim of any scam here, like them running up charges on my cell phone or whatever. I have scoured the Internet and cannot find one bit of information about this service, which I find odd. You think there would be a review of it somewhere. If anybody can find a review, please provide me with the link, I would appreciate it.
I admittedly like the service they are providing. But I would like to know if there are any potential risks involved in giving out your cell phone number to a website to validate your account. Usually, most sites send you some kind of an activation link to the email you provide to confirm an account. That I have no problem with.
But this leaves me a bit uncomfortable. What do you think?
  • 0





  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
I've registered at so many sites I can't even remember how many, but none of them ever asked me for my phone number/confirm via text message. Sounds very fishy, a legitimate website would just do it like everyone else does and confirm via email.

Also, have you heard of Pandora? It's like creating your own radio station. You pick certain artists and they play that artists music (along with similar artists). You can access it from anywhere you have internet. I'm not that into music to be honest so I haven't explored it all that much.

But it's one of those new sites that is a "big hit". Seems everyone is talking about it. Completely free.
  • 0



    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,341 posts
I also admit it is very fishy. I have never had a confirmation done via a text message.
It has always been done at sign up or via a link for activation.
  • 0

Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP