Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

CPU Usage always 100%

• Please log in to reply

Azhrei

Azhrei

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi! newbie here, i ve been trying to figure this out by myself but i have given up and i'm hoping you guyz can help me solve this problem

My CPU usage is always stuck around 100% even when idling... and I can't pinpoint what is causing it. The only recent changes i have done is install an vid card, but this shouldnt be causing the problem...right? I have tried some of the advice that you guyz have given other folks experiencing the same problem as me, but im still having the same problem. Below is a log of HJT:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 10:15:25 PM, on 5/19/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsshld.exe
c:\progra~1\mcafee.com\vso\mcvsescn.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\PERSON~1\MpfTray.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\McAgent.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\BILLPS~1\WINPAT~1\winpatrol.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\Hotsync.exe
C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hpohmr08.exe
C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hpoevm08.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\PERSON~1\MpfAgent.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTsvcCDA.exe