Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

crash coming?


  • Please log in to reply

#76
Susan Q

Susan Q

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Hi Ron,
Booted in safe mode there are no errors. If we do
a step-by-step load and do not load the drivers associated
with McAfee Antivirus and Firewall, then all is well.
If we just let it boot on it's own .... Windows Protection Error and instruction to reboot.
So far, that's all I really know.
  • 0

Advertisements


#77
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Since McAfee seems to be the problem then it seems the most logical place to start.
I would uninstall it and get the Avast for the AV and comodo for firewall like we did for your system.
First thing I would suggest
Lets see what you have in your startup

Please click on
Start and then to Run
Type in msconfig and press Enter
Now click on Startups
Then uncheck everything that has to do with McAfee and restart.
IMPORTANT! In case of laptop, make sure, you do NOT disable any keyboard, or touchpad entries.
If system boots correctly and is running smoothly and faster then we have a startup problem
Reboot and Post back with the results

Edited by rshaffer61, 17 April 2010 - 09:54 PM.

  • 0

#78
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
Windows 98 is so old we are going to have trouble finding virus scanners and firewalls.

Avast.....Microsoft Windows 2000, Microsoft Windows XP/Vista/7 (32/64 bit)
Avira.....Windows 2000, Windows XP SP2 (32 or 64 Bit), Windows Vista (32 or 64 Bit, SP 1 recommended), Windows 7 (32 or 64 Bit)
PC Tools AV..Vista™ 32-bit, XP and 2000
ClamWin ...Windows 7 / Vista / XP / Me / 2000 / 98 and Windows Server 2008 and 2003.
Please note that ClamWin Free Antivirus does not include an on-access real-time scanner. You need to manually scan a file in order to detect a virus or spyware.

Comodo....Windows XP / 2003 / Vista / Windows7
ZoneAlarm...Windows XP/ Vista/ Windows 7
AShampoo...XP/ Windows 2000
PeerGuardian 2 ...98, ME, 2000, XP, and 2003, in 32-bit and 64-bit/ windows 7/ Vista.
R-Firewall ...Windows 98/2000/XP/2003.

We can possibly find something in Old Version.com for Avast or Avira.

The problem is related to McAfee. It could be that it is corrupt, or just can't get the correct DAT files for 98.

What version of McAfee is being used?

123runner

EDIT: Found this on Avast. Avast works great on Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 2000, Windows NT, Windows 95/98*123Runner and also on 64 bit operative systems. Avast

Edited by 123Runner, 18 April 2010 - 05:48 AM.

  • 0

#79
Susan Q

Susan Q

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Hi Guys ....I haven't forgotten ....
just messed up with this new unit of mine.
:) .... :)
Mine is a linksys wireless ....husbands is
Linksys hardwired ... That said ...
this new unit has no room for the hook up so had
to get an adapter. Called Linksys and they told us
what to get .....WRONG ! So ... now we're waiting
on the right part ......eeek!
Just as soon as that is straightened out I'll work
on doing all that you've mentioned above.
Trust me ..... this is not far from my mind ...ever...
BUT ....my mind, being my mind, is limited
to one techno problem at a time :)

I'll let you know just as soon as it's working.
Susan :)

Edited by Susan Q, 23 April 2010 - 10:39 AM.

  • 0

#80
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
Thanks for letting us know. We are still here when needed.

Paul
  • 0

#81
Susan Q

Susan Q

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Good Morning Paul, Good Morning Ron .....hope you are both well.
I'm back ! Finally I've got my wireless connection working...my computer is back in the study where it belongs .....and all is good. I took the easy route and let Staples recover my data from my old HD. Haven't gotten it back yet, but I did speak with the tech and he is working on it and able to retrieve the data.
As I mentioned the computer with Win98 is a mess. Thank you both for your offer to help optimize that one, but my husband is content to leave it the way it is. :)

Here is a question about my new computer. On the boot it asks for a password. No password is required because no password was ever chosen but I still have to hit "ok" in order for the boot to continue. So ...... I went into control panel and into user accounts to disable the password option, however ....it says "Client Services for Netware has disabled the Welcome screen and Fast User Switching. To restore these features you must uninstall Client Services for Netware."
So ..... I went to Add/Remove Programs but I don't see either
Client Services or Netware in the programs list. Suggestions?

So glad to be able to touch base with you guys again !

:)
  • 0

#82
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That would be located under the network options. Go to Control Panel and then to Network and right click. Click on properties.
It would be one of the services listed in the upper window of that screen when you enter it.
Just highlight that line and then click on Uninstall.
Apply and or OK and that should take care of the problem.
  • 0

#83
Susan Q

Susan Q

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Good to see you again, Ron.

Thanks ....it's done. :)

OK .....how about this one :

On the boot :: Could not ititialize GWUTIL.dll

Don't know what to do about this. What do ya think?

Hope all is perfect in your world
Susan
  • 0

#84
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That is connected to Greetings Workshop which I take it you have installed on your system?
  • 0

#85
Susan Q

Susan Q

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Yes ...I do have greetings
  • 0

Advertisements


#86
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Try reinstalling it to see if it will fix the problem. If you don't use it anymore try uninstalling it using the Add\Remove programs from the Control panel
  • 0

#87
Susan Q

Susan Q

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
Ok Ron, I'll try that.
I do, in fact, use the program so I'll try to reinstall.
Haven't been able to get online for a few days now.

Thanks for the advice. I'll be back as soon as I can.

Susan
  • 0

#88
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No problem and I will continue to monitor this for your results. :) :)
  • 0

#89
Susan Q

Susan Q

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
You're still the best, Ron. Thanks for hangin' in with me.
Don't mind telling you ......this is beginning to drain my brain :)

Haven't reinstalled Greetings yet. Still dealing with other computer problems. Just got my data back from the old computer and it is overwhelming. This new computer is noisy .. the fan, I think, although I'm not really sure.
In fact, I'm not sure this one is going to last very long at all. Get what you pay for, I guess. So, I'm not even sure I want to put the old info on this new one.. (If you've been able to follow my drifting :))
The first CD is all my music. I can't get to it, though. It all looks like one file but I can't open it. Sheesh .... I do miss my music .. a little Jackson Browne ...Eagles .....CCR ...would be nice background while I'm pulling my hair out ! :)

Anyway, I'll be in touch just as soon as I figure out what next step I even want to take.

Thanks a million, Ron
Susan
  • 0

#90
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No problem Susan and I myself don't keep any of my music on my system. I keep it on cd's and just listen to it from there using either Winamp or WMP
Takes up less room that way and you can listen to it without searching the hd all the time.
When you say the cd won't open are you saying you can't get to the files or the drive itself won't open?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP