Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

limit incoming trafic available to mac addresses

• Please log in to reply

Grogie

Grogie

• Pip
  • 4 posts
I am just a beginner trying to police my house. I am a satellite internet prisoner due to location. I have 1Mb down and 256Kb up in what I understand is an “hourly bucket system”. The provider does not openly share the limits but the bottom line is; what they call the fare access policy is so written they can do what they want.

In my house I have 2 PC's hard wired an Xbox, laptop and an iPod wireless and other visitors.

What I want is to limit the "bandwidth"? available to the mac addresses. This is a parenting issue, as it is now I have certain mac addresses in a access restriction policy and lock them out when I use the internet. Also I have tried to use the QoS restrictions but I find that while I am not using the internet, the iPods, Nintendo DS's and kids who don't understand the problem (or refuse to) are constantly taking me into the FAP limits so when I do go to use the internet it is already taxed.

Bla Bla Bla. So, can I say "mac address 00:00:00:00:00 only gets 2KB/s (or whatever) all the time" somewhere? Because the QoS seems to spread the % of use real time as opposed to a bandwidth limit per user.